I’m ba-a-ack!   3 comments

Sorry not to post my list today as usual – life is complicated this week!

Power came back on – beeping and clicking and flashing lights woke us from a deep sleep in the middle of the night Tuesday – you know – a little before 8.  🙂  Once we were sure it was really staying on I leaped up, turned on the dishwasher and pellet stoves, flushed the toilets, washed my hands, plugged in the DVR to record NCIS, and went back to bed.  Since then, we have played catch-up.

It has been warm, so the snow has almost melted, and all the dishes are done, laundry is back under control – amazing how 3 days with no power can create havoc!

Today I went and got the snow tires on the other car, and met Crimson Crow in town for a fun morning of errands and chatting (you knew you would be here, right, CC?) and a good breakfast at the Riverside restaurant.

After I left her, I stopped in the office to drop off my time card, then came home to clean out the fridge.  Very exciting.  Got to throw is all away, then scrub shelves, etc.  Haven’t opened the freezer yet, but all of that will be tossed as well, and that will get cleaned this weekend.

Then I made some cheesy artichoke dip, and shortly, I will leave for game night at A’s office. Of course I will bring that sock I have been working on all week.  🙂

I’ll post later this weekend about the other fun things we have planned, but for now, know that we are safe, have lights and water again, and knitting is happening again.

Posted November 7, 2014 by salpal1 in how I spent my day

Tagged with , , , , , ,

3 responses to “I’m ba-a-ack!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay for electricity, warm house, clean clothes, dishwashers and all that is ‘comfort’.

    Although I know that I could actually survive a power failure (I’ve done it before and I’ve no doubt that it will happen again) – I also know that those times of power failures (for whatever reasons), taught me an infinite appreciation of those things which very clever folks invented in order to make my life warmer, easier and in some cases, healthier.

    Glad to hear you’re up and running again! ~ Cobs. x

  2. I didn’t realise you were without water for 3 days too! And must be really annoying to have to throw food away from fridge and freezer – works out an expensive power cut

    • yes, we have a well, so when no electricity, we have no water. It’s the worst part.

      Well, besides throwing away a full freezer full of food. that was rough.

      Normally in the winter when the power goes out, we can save the food by putting it in boxes outside. But this time, it wasn’t cold enough. We saved the fridge food for a few days, but the last few days, it was just too warm.

Leave a Reply

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

