Sometimes life is like a Blondie song   6 comments

Hurry up, hurry up, and wait…

L and her doctor decided on rehab.  A good choice I think as she is experiencing severe nausea from the meds.  But in typical bureaucratic fashion, that decision was made, THEN they started talking to the insurance company about where she should go.  End result was she spent an extra night in the hospital while they worked it out, then they sent her where the doctor wanted her to go all along, but it meant A spent Thursday in the house by the phone waiting for the call, and we both spent a day hanging about in Bangor Friday – first at the hospital waiting for them to release her (I watched half of Apollo 13 in the lobby as L was feeling very sick and not wanting company and they released her JUST as they had their critical accident and now I need to find a copy of the movie or find it on DISH so I can be sure that they get home safely (never mind that I know they do because I saw the movie ages ago) Then at the rehab place while we made sure she was settled and her room mate wasn’t going to drive her nuts and all was well.  After that, we went to Staples and got out of there the fastest and cheapest we ever have – nothing that wasn’t on the list!  Then we went home and collapsed.  There is nothing so tiring as sitting waiting, right?

Saturday, we went to Bangor to visit her and make sure she was OK,(she was feeling much better) and were pleased with her progress.  Interestingly, the knee is no big deal, it is the nausea that is holding her back.  She is able to hop out of bed and cruise with her walker.  All those years of yoga and hiking and biking are really paying off.  She can put her shoes and socks on without bending her knee (jaw drops in amazement).

We went to the pharmacy to get her a few things and then back to rehab to drop them off, then we went to Ruby Tuesday’s for “lupper” before coming home and once again collapsing.

All of this sitting around, then collapsing, has been VERY good for getting knitting done! Two finished objects this week, although photos are not current, here they are. Socks were finished tonight, less than two weeks from cast on.

sunrose socks sws 22 in process

This, believe it or not is the Lacy Leaf shawl I started last week – this photo is from last week.  The shawl is finished now, upstairs being blocked.  I’ll get a finished shot of it in the next day or so, I promise. I finished it last night.

lady edith shawl

This morning, I cast this on – it is Triinu from Nancy Bush’s Knitted Lace of Estonia.  Because it calls for fingering weight yarn, and I have lace weight, I added a pattern repeat to get the width I want – so 90 stitches cast on, size 4 needles.  I expect I will be working on it for a while.  lifelines are handy and will be used a lot with this one.  They are so handy on a project like this.

malabrigio triinu start

I don’t think I shared with you the finished hitchhiker – it got done last week (I think) and didn’t need blocking, which means I love it!  See that tiny little ball of yarn tucked near the fold of the shawl?  that is how much yarn I had left.  🙂  this was Tosh light, and I love the softness of this yarn, it feels like silk but is pure wool.

hitchhiker finished

I was cleaning off the camera and found this photo I took at the food distribution last week – I had to take it when I saw that pile of pallets – it struck me that this is a DIYers dream to find this many clean pallets 🙂

diy dream

Today was slightly more productive around the house – we got to the dump and grocery store.  A went down into the basement and cleaned up a bit so that tomorrow, she can start work on my mud room wall box, to hold my IKEA baskets and many hats, scarves and mittens which will be needed this winter.  I can’t wait!  And it will get her in the groove of building again so the bookcases that NEVER get started might.  Someday.

I also worked on a project I have had in mind for a while – it involves some Christmas gifts, so I might not be able to share it with you for a long time, but if it works out, it will be cool, involving yarn AND spray paint.  I will document it well so when I share it, you can feel free to copy it.  🙂

A new week starts… A has it off, except Thursday, which I have off.  That is likely the day L will come to us for the next phase of her rehab. Life is interesting, for sure.

6 responses to “Sometimes life is like a Blondie song

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those socks look scrumptious! Love the color!

  2. Great new projects, I love the colours you are working with. So “summery” 🙂
    All the best to you all, take care.

  3. You finished socks in less than two weeks. You are a wonderfully talented and fast knitter. And completed a shawl. Total awe and respect. You are at one with the knitting-powers-that-be.

    • lol thank you. I should send you the shawl pattern, it knits up REALLY fast (obviously) because you use needles that are too big for the yarn, and then block the heck out of it. The socks were fast, for sure, but she has such a small foot I used the child’s size and just made then a tad longer. You know, you are also a fast knitter, you are just designing as you go along, so you rip more than I do. I am just knitting from patterns, if I pay attention, then no ripping on a good pattern.

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

