is it so wrong   21 comments

to just want to stay home and knit?

Posted September 18, 2014 by salpal1 in What I love

Tagged with , ,

21 responses to “is it so wrong

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s my plan! Starting a Halloween themed animal today! 🙂 Looking for the right yarn now! 🙂

  2. Nope – and yes, you should and no, do not wait for external permission – LOL 🙂

  3. I’ve run around all week and I know that feeling all to well! I hope you catch a break!

  4. No. Hibernation with needles and yarn can be restorative. The need to get out and do things will be the next urge once the time out has been completed.

    • I could hibernate fro years the way I feel right now! Not sure when the knitting day will come, but I think it has too, soon.

      A asked me if it was “OK with me” if she takes two weeks vacation at the end of the month. She hasn’t had a break since April, and she works long hard hours. Her September vacation got completely cancelled, where mine just got constantly interrupted. So I, of course, gave immediate permission. Why would I hesitate? She will spend some of that time taking care of her sister, and just enjoying puttering and having no clients and salesmen and bosses filling her time.
      I am glad she can do it, but so jealous if it works! 🙂

  5. No, it’s perfectly normal. I feel like that every single day!

  6. Do it.

    Each of use, every single day, are faced with two choices. Not just limited to two a day, you understand, but every moment comes along with two choices. Let me explain:

    Get out of bed, or stay there?
    Breakfast; Toast or cereal?
    What to wear: This? or That?
    Travel to work: Bus or car?

    Skip forward to lunch ….
    Soup or Sandwich?
    Stay indoors (& eat at desk) or go out & get some fresh air?

    Take that snarky comment from colleague as insult and retaliate, or just put it down to them having a bad day and ignore it?

    I could go on but you can see where I’m going and what I’m saying.

    You have two choices. A ship in a harbour is safe – but that’s not what ships were built for. So if you can afford to do what your heart desires, – maybe with a little tightening of the belt perhaps – then do it.

    Be brave. It will work for you if you MAKE it work.
    I wish I was there to give you a hug right now. Don’t feel guilty about doing something you want to do. If you can see that it’s feasible and practical, then for goodness sake don’t turn your back on your hearts longing.
    Sending love and positive vibes ~ Cobs. x

    • thank you! It is encouraging to have you and the rest of the bloggers around to support me when I feel down and discouraged. I suspect I will never only knit for a living, but I take tiny baby steps to figure ot ways to have it contribute to the family bank account, as opposed to draining it. 🙂 Got lots of ideas at the Common ground Fair yesterday. 🙂

  7. Ooh, I’d love to have one if those days. It’s not happening any time soon though!

  8. Totally ok! I spent yesterday afternoon with some family and had dinner then instead of going back to their house to hang out, I went home and knit…well actually I worked on crocheting a rug for my kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

