At last! Uploaded photos   10 comments

sign

Every day I look at this sign and laugh. I did not alter it at all. If, by chance, you wanted “Sumer tutoring” for your 4-7 year old, I don’t know how you would get it as there is no phone number or other contact info.

The stitching is coming along, but I don’t think I will get it finished by next Sunday, when I wanted it ready. Oh well, I will keep plugging away at it and it will get done eventually, right? I worked on it out on the porch today – natural light makes a huge difference in how well I can see it, I found. Even then, it goes slowly.

cross stitch 6

Then there are socks (number 20 since I started the Socks With Sarah Knit along) – they continue to grow on my needles. This yarn is from Cloudlover, “Mag Mell” is the colorway, and I love it. I wasn’t sure though, that it went well with this pattern, which has lots of texture. But seeing the photos, I have decided I do like it, and will keep going. I think when it is on my foot and the ribbing pulls out a bit, it will look even better. I’ll get photos when I finish, no worries. πŸ™‚

sws #20

sws #20 1

I am also working on this shawl – I just love how the blues are looking on this – while it is hard to see any progress simply by looking at the photos I take, I feel better when I am counting the points – working on number 24 now. Not sure that I will get to the 42 the pattern calls for, I’ll just keep going until the ball is done. It is a Madeline Tosh, Tosh Light, in Betty Draper’s Blues. So soft and lovely. It is a single ply yarn, all wool, not as dense as the sock yarn. It is making lovely fabric.

hitchhiker 2

That’s it – the photos I couldn’t load to the last post worked fine now. Thanks, WordPress!

Posted August 23, 2014 by salpal1 in what I am making, what I am thinking about

Tagged with , , , , ,

10 responses to “At last! Uploaded photos

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The cross stitch is really coming along. I love the design and soft colors. What a beautiful gift it will make. The socks look great and the yarn looks like fun. I so desperately want to be knitting a shawl in my line up of things on the needles, but I can’t find the time right now to cast on another item. Oh that MadTosh blue is so pretty!

    • Thanks – I think things are coming along, just maybe a little bit slower than I would like. The stitching will be surrounded by shells, so there i sstill lots to go before the thing is complete. πŸ™‚

      I love that sock yarn – it is thinner than the Tosh Sock I usually use, so the patterns take some adjusting, but the colors are amazing. I have one more skein from cloudlovers for socks, and two that might be shawls someday. πŸ™‚

      I also love the blue – might need more of that yarn, I have to say!

      If you want to watch some bright pretty shawls unfold, you could check out Mollie&claire – she is doing her Christmas knitting adn some folks are getting brightly colored shawls. πŸ™‚

      I hear you about wanting to make everything – that is why I have my rule about WIPS – I can’t start another one until I finish one. It keeps me moving forward. πŸ™‚

  2. Yay, for these fiber photos. That sign is dumb and dumber. That colorway for this twentieth pair of socks is like Minecraft. The shawl is looking great.

  3. Looking good on those socks! I think I need to start a pair, really soon. I miss sock knitting. And good progress on your shawl. πŸ™‚

  4. I love the shawl, as you say the different shades look fab.

  5. am loving your green socks ^^

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

