Cool Friday list   7 comments

Just a short one today – I am bound and determined to go to the Farmers Market in Stonington. Still have not made it there yet this summer. Their blog posts keep telling me all I have missed, so today, I will go there.

Also, want to finish the shawl which is so close to done! I ran out of yarn, so had to rip back one pattern repeat. However, because there were lots of notes to this effect on Ravelry about this pattern, I had several lifelines in, so that was pretty easy.

Not sure if I have updated you on the whole pool excavation thing lately. I have decided that this summer will be pool-free. It was a tough decision to make, because you know I love my pool, but it just wasn’t happening as it should. Instead, this is the summer of prepping for next year – I continue to work on the digging in short spurts, and hope to have everything ready for next spring. I made this decision when I thought about just how much water will go into this thing, and how long it will take to fill it – it would be September before I could use it, and September is usually when I drain it! That seemed a waste of water, so I decided to release myself from the pressure of the goal. I’ll swim at Mom’s, or Craig Pond if I feel the need for a swim.

That’s it – 2 things. More might happen, but I sure hope that I can get these two things done!

PS I might stop at the PO on the way to Stonington, as I drive right by it. But that is it for planned additions. 🙂

Posted July 25, 2014 by salpal1 in how I plan to spend my day

Tagged with , ,

7 responses to “Cool Friday list

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Random Things › Cool Friday list | whatimuptotoday

  2. Funny how there’s always one (or two, or three… ) things that get added to the list! Have a wonderful Friday! 🙂

  3. I’m still mystified by this whole dig a pool for yourself thing. Will it be like a regular pool? How does it drain?

    • lol!

      I bought an above ground pool, and it requires a flat, stone and plant free surface of sand. So, I have to dig up the gravelly mess we have for a yard, get the stones out, get it level, etc. then pack it down tight. The dang pool I chose is huge, and our soil is awful to dig. Also, because I am basically cheap, and our whole yard is sand, I am seiving out the stones and putting the sand back, instead of just digging out the dirt and buying sand to put in. So it is taking forever. I have done it before, for a smaller pool, but that was before I got such strict instructions from the doctor to avoid mid-day sun. So now I do it early and late and am no where near as productive. But I know, when I am done, that I will have a fabulous place to swim. It’s just that I wanted it this year, not next year…

      • Wow! What an investment and labor. Thanks for clarifying.

        • yes, as usual, I bit off a lot. I could hire someone to come in and do it with a machine, as my mother reminds me (and has offered to pay for) but I do like knowing I did it mself. And I can be careful of the plants around the edge, which I don’t think a machine can be. So, I’ll be pool-less this summer and appreciate it greatly next summer!

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

