Quick Monday update   8 comments

Just wanted to let you know why it has been so quiet, and that the silence will end! Weekend was wonderful – good combination of work, crafting, resting and relaxing. But in all of that, I spilled a glass of juice on the laptop!

EEK!

I shut it off fast. Stood it on its head and wiped up the resulting mess. Wiped down the keyboard and screen. Left it off for two days.

Prayed hard!

Turned  it on this morning and all is well. Not sure how sticky things are inside, I hope I got it cleaned up fast enough.

So, there will be some catch up posting later on.  🙂

Posted July 21, 2014 by salpal1 in Uncategorized

8 responses to “Quick Monday update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oops!!

  2. Just the thought of it makes me shudder.

  3. Sounds like you have quick reflexes!

  4. Here’s something that I’ve used when spilling things on a laptop (it’s more common than you think). Most times, keys are removable. If you notice any sticking keys, power off the laptop completely and gently pry off each of the keys. Use a mildly damp cloth to clean around the buttons under the keys and the underside of the keys themselves. Then pop them back on (there’s usually a ‘click’ sound to let you know they’re back on).

    Granted, not EVERY laptop has removable keys and it’s harder to remove the keys on a Mac than a Windows machine (mainly due to the unibody design of the Mac). I’d look online to see if your laptop model does have removable keys and if it does, and they’re sticking, go to town. Just remember to put them all back in the right place!

    • thanks for the tip! I have taken keys off a regular keyboard before, so I was hoping I could do that if need be. So far, the stickiness is the tops, and I keep wiping it up as I come to it. But eventually, I would think the innards would want the same treatment. Why I couldn’t have been drinking water just then, I do not know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

