photos from the weekend   16 comments

lawn trimmer

Getting the foliage on the bank cleaned up, but of course, not the crabgrass! (Sorry it is blurry, it is through the window screen.)

cloudlover package

I was excited to get this in the mail Friday – 4 skeins of delicious yarn, ordered with the Socks With Sarah Discount – yummy softness. I guess I was in a blue and green mood when I ordered, huh? So cute that she included a few extra treats!

I started a cross stitch picture for my brother and family, to celebrate their new house. I am taking periodic photos so that you can all join in the excrutiatingly slow progress. These will be very exciting to all of you, I know. ๐Ÿ™‚ The first is after one afternoon of concentrated stitiching, the second is a couple of days later. What a difference the flash makes – sorry! Maybe natural light this weekend? I am on my fourth color. There are 30. I have learned that I can’t count. This could be endless.

cross stitch 1

cross stitch 2

The crocheted sock squares continue to pile up. But check this out – here is an interesting thing – the skein, the knitted sock and the crocheted square. Isn’t it amazing how it can look so different depending how it is worked up?

sws #15 yarn

sws #15 finished

crocheted square

That’s all, I find the keyboard is a bit sticky to the touch, but otherwise the computer is working. Aren’t you lucky?

16 responses to “photos from the weekend

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That granny square is gorgeous! I love the way the greens and pinks work together! What yarn is that?

  2. Absolutely! The granny square just “pops” the colours. Well done. Your skeins are very pretty, I love blue.

  3. Oooh lovely yarn!

  4. The culprit actually posed for his mug shot! Guilt is written all over that deer’s little face.
    Starting the cross stitch is time consuming, but once started it will go quickly but in spurts. Very nice stitching. Yes, counting was always a problem with me. Beyond 5 little squares and I became counting illiterate.
    Love the difference in the knit and crochet with the same yarn. I’ve never tried to crochet variegated yarn. A whole world of possibilities have open up.

    • thanks for the compliments! I have to run all those thread guides to keep me counting right, but even then, I make mistakes. Sure did wish they had some other (brighter) color near that center of the piece, working with all that very pale blue and nothing to orient me was tough. But now that I got the letters done, and there is darker blue, it IS easier. Tonight, I finish (I hope) my knitted shawl, then it will be only socks and this for a while.

      As for crocheting with variegated yarn, I would say you should try it, but I know how trying crochet is for you. Sometime when you have a lot of time to drive yourself crazy, maybe!

      As for the sweet little doe – as long as she sticks to that overgrown bank, I am OK with her nibbling. It is when she goes around back to the raised vegetable beds that I get really cranky. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Your cross stitch sounds as if it will be intricate! I am amazed by the colour differences.

  6. Ironically, I just commented on your previous post about sticky keys!

    The yarn looks wonderful, and I wish I had deer in my backyard. Unfortunately, all I have for a view is the house behind us. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • And I thank you for the advice! I’ll let you know how it goes.

      I know that we are very lucky to live in the woods with so much land and trees around us, and for the most part, I love having the deer and birds so close. Where this girl was eating was actually fine, there is nothing on that bank she can’t have. It is amazing how close she comes – she will eat the flowers out of the pots on the deck if I am not careful in where I put them. And you should see the cats – they think deer are just giant mice, and they run from window to window, tails twitching and engines racing. Not sure what they would do if we let them out…

  7. oooh I love your choice of new yarns and those socks look very snuggly ^^

Leave a Reply

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

Colette Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

