What to do with all those earrings?   21 comments

mirror frame

Every now and then I see a cute idea for hanging earrings – putting some kind of screen or fabric in a frame, then hanging earrings from it. I always thought I would do it, but never really had the right things happen at the right time.

When I found this frame at a used furniture store not too long ago, I knew this is what I wanted to do with it.

It turned out to be SO SIMPLE!

I bought a small piece of aluminum sheet metal that was cut with this pretty pattern, typically used for radiator box covers, it is more expensive than I expected, I got this piece for about $11, and used it all, except what I cut off for the arch.

Using tin snips, I trimmed it to fit the frame.

Then I spray painted the frame, set the screen in it, held it in place with tiny brads, put a hangar on the back and it was made!

earring rack empty

This is about 14 inches across and just about 2 feet tall, and will hold ALL of my dangling earrings, as well as some other jewelry, using S hooks to hang them from the mesh.

It is hard to get a good shot of it hanging on the wall as I hung it in the short corridor between our bedroom and bathroom, with not much room to get a photo.

But it looks pretty, I think, and A even commented that it came out well, she wondered what the heck I was making. 🙂 Of course, she also commented that I clearly do not need more earrings, but I think I might, as they are now art! Plus, since I can see them all easily, I can see where the gaps are in my colors and combinations. That is my story and I am sticking to it.

???????????????????????????????

I spent a total of about $20 on this. The frame was just about $10, and I already had the spray paint. I could do it more reasonably with a different frame, but I fell in love with this one, isn’t that the way of it?

Posted July 7, 2014 by salpal1 in how I spent my day, how it came out

Tagged with , , ,

21 responses to “What to do with all those earrings?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is lovely, and so practical too!
    I need to make something like this too.

    • Thanks! It turned out to be easier than I expected. I am glad I used a mirror frame as opposed to a picture frame, it has more room behind the grid, making it easier to maneuver the jewelry on and off.

  2. Great idea. You did an wonderful job on it. You’re so clever. 🙂

  3. Super brilliant! Looks really good too.

    slippedstitches
  4. lovely idea to hang all the pretty earrings.. 😀 thanks for such clever thought. 😉

  5. That is gorgeous! When I was younger I had a cork board with little hooks screwed into it but this is much nicer. Oh and tell A that you can *never* have too much jewelry. I tell D that all the time 😉

  6. Cute and clever idea.

  7. Lovely! I would make one of these, but it would have to be huge to fit all my earrings…perhaps I have too many?

    • NO! As Claire said in her comment – there is no such thing. You would be amazed at how many pairs I really have there – and there is loads of room for more. It is about 2 feet high and 1 foot wide. Lots of little holes. And remember, it is only for the hanging ones, not the posts.

  8. Love it. I need 3. One for earrings,one for bracelets and one for necklaces 😉

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

