4th of July Friday list   4 comments

We don’t do much around this house to celebrate Independence Day – not that we aren’t patriotic Americans, we are – but we just don’t like heat and crowds. I do love fireworks, but thanks to Arthur, there won’t be many of them around tonight. However, Bucksport usually has theirs later in the month at the Bucksport Bay Festival, so I will catch some later this summer.

Here’s what I will be getting done today:

CARDS! Procrastination has brought me right up to a deadline for wedding cards needed tomorrow. 🙂 While I am up in the craft room making those, I will make a few get well cards for niece C the elder, who had jaw reconstruction surgery this week, and is home feeling miserable; a thinking of you type card for a coworker whose husband had emergency brain surgery last week. We still don’t know much about why or how he is, I know she can use a little card just now. And, if the spirit moves me, I will make a few birthday cards, as there is one important July birthday coming up in a few weeks – niece C the younger will be 18. (It occurs to me as I write this blog that we sure do repeat first initials in this family, especially C’s!)

DIG FOR THE POOL! For crying out loud, I need to figure a way to get that creature set up and filling. Here comes another pile of rain, and I haven’t got the pool in place to catch it! And it has been stinking hot and humid this week, and I can’t go dunk myself in cold water! This just isn’t good.

Laundry, of course, and a quick trip to the grocery store this morning, as it is open a half day. No PO, it is closed for the holiday.

Then there is knitting – I would like to finish up this sock and get the mate cast on today, so I can get the toe increases done before the big wedding tomorrow afternoon. Why have such a strange deadline, you ask? Because I am (of course) bringing my knitting to the event, and it is much less obvious once I get the sock onto the little needle (I need to use two circulars for the cast on and toe increases, until I get enough stitches on the needle) And I know that once the ceremony and the meal are done, there will be lots of sitting around – especially if it is a hot muggy, rainy day. So I figure while we sit and visit, I might keep my hands busy with a bit of sock knitting. I also might not, but at least I will have it with me if I want to!

Other things I want to get done today – ordering a dvd for my sister and brother-in-law. I have been wanting to get it for them since last Christmas, but it has not been available until now. So, with no gifty holidays or birthdays in sight, I will buy them a present, and just send it off. I also want to plug in the lights I bought at IKEA for our bedroom.

Why this should have to get on a chore list, I don’t really know, but I think it is one of those things that if I don’t write it down, I won’t think of it again until I climbing into bed and they aren’t plugged in. Since this chore involves moving the whole bed to get at the outlet, unplugging the current lights and plugging in the new lights, I can’t really do it when A is tucked in and snoozing. I also know what moving the bed will add to the list – a little dusting vacuuming session, no doubt. 🙂

I’ll probably spend a little time on the screened porch with A between chores, too.

Have a happy Fourth, everyone!

4 responses to “4th of July Friday list

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that you’re bring your knitting to the wedding. Why in heaven didn’t I ever think of that? I carry mine everywhere, even the drug store and supermarket. I knit while standing in line. Gosh!

    slippedstitches
    • I took some crocheting to teh lobster feed gathering thing last night, but it was too social, and I never got it out. However if I had not had it with me, I probably would have had plenty of opportunity to work on it!

  2. Good luck with your list. We usually watch the firework display from our window but it was too foggy this year.

    • thanks! diidn’t do so well on the list, and saw no fireworks, but we can hear them now that the weather has broken. we’ll see them later this summer

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

