last weekend in review   23 comments

I think I have lots of last Friday’s list left for this weekend… but some things got done, and some fun was had.

I did get my eyes checked and ordered new lenses for my glasses. I also ordered a single vision pair, with the reading prescription – a new necessity for me. I have always been able to read without my glasses, but one eye is getting bad enough that it has become impossible. And with progressive lenses, it is tough to read lying down. So, special bedtime reading glasses. I feel sort of old…

I did a little work on the pool prep, I am thinking I may not finish it. Ever. I may rethink my process and just buy sand to put down. Hate to do that, we have so much sandy gravel here, everywhere we look.

I did get the shrub planted, and a few small plants, but still no potatoes. I might not get a big harvest this year if I don’t get cracking.

No cards made yet, but I don’t need those until Saturday, so I have time, right?

I did manage to finish altering and putting together the new cart from IKEA. It is a light turquoise color. It wasn’t bad, but there was too much of it, so I sprayed the framework a teal color, in a satin finish. It tones down all the high gloss brightness. The cart had to be thoroughly inspected of course, and now resides beside the sofa with all manner of knitting things in its three levels. Coffee table now actually has room for a dish or a glass or a laptop, simply amazing.

ikea cart

ikea cart cat scan 2

ikea cart cat scan 1

Sunday, Mom and I took step-brother J to Monhegan for the day. It was a gorgeous day, and we had a good time. Except for the part of the hike where the easy path merged with the difficult path. That was a short rough patch, but Mom and I survived it, although we were then hot and sweaty and maybe a little cranky. 🙂 Ice cream and a rest fixed that, and we enjoyed the sunshine on the island that for me has usually provided plenty of rain. It was tough to get up the next day for work, but I wasn’t as sore as I had expected – I just wanted more days off!

monhegan june 2014

Last thing to update you on is sock knitting – pair number 15 is cruising along. This is the yarn I won in the Socks With Sarah giveaway in May – “under the mistletoe” is the name of the color. It is bright and cheery, and is knitting up very differently than I expected! I think I will use the Hermione sock stitch pattern on the leg to break up the stripes a bit. I love the colors, these socks are going to make some winter days more cheerful, without a doubt.

sws #15 yarn

sws #15

That’s about it – done a bit of scarf knitting and square crocheting, but not much progress to show on that front.

See you Friday with a rainy day list!

23 responses to “last weekend in review

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also have progressive glasses but I like to

    • I like to read in bed on my Kindle with the text enlarged and no glasses. Love the sock colours!

      • I haven’t moved to a kindle yet, so still struggle with books and arm length. Hard to snuggle into the pillows that way. 🙂 The new glasses seem to help a lot.

        I am loving this Blue Moon yarn, too. Never tried it before, and I would not have chosen these colors, so I am glad I won it and stretched a bit. 🙂

  2. I have to finish my eye exam as I had forgotten my glasses. I didn’t update my glasses last time and it was such a pain to wear my contacts till I went to bed. Felt this made them wear out faster. My right eye is bad, qualifying for medically necessary contacts. What a colorway. Christmas Grinch it is.

  3. What absolutely gorgeous yarn. They will be nice socks to wear. Glasses are a pain but I haven’t got to the varifocal stage yet!

    • Yes, the yarn is great, isn’t it? These will be fun to wear.

      Glasses ARE a pain, but better than not seeing! 🙂 I have worn them since I was 9, so I am used to them now. It was rough when the near vision started changing, I fear the day will come when I just can’t see anything clearly without the glasses.

  4. Busy Busy Busy. Sounds like you have no worry of growing old before your time since keeping active helps keep you young.

    • lol then I will be forever young, because we seem to never have a day when there isn’t something that needs doing. But you are right – both my grandmothers were and my mother is very active, and all three ladies present seem(ed) much younger than their calendar years.

  5. I wanted to let you know the Fields pond is the pond I swim in, there is a beach to the right of the boat landing. It is just down the road from the Audubon center;)

    thefrugalcrafter
  6. I have two pairs of reading glasses. I went for the real old lady kind of half glasses. I think they are a hoot! Can’t see a thing in print without them. I have a pair of progressive lens glasses, but your right, can’t read in bed with them. By the way, I love the Inspectors! How cute!

    slippedstitches
    • Oh, half glasses – maybe next time! The ones I got a are full glasses, and they work just fine, but it is REALLY strange to put on glasses and look around and not be able to see any better than without them (except books, of course) My brain has a freak out moment then. 🙂

      Yes, my two primary inspectors (Tigger and Zumba) are wonderful creatures. The follow-up inspector (Allie Cat) is too shy to come out when something new is around, she waits until all the commotion is over and no one is looking. Hence, no photos of her with my fabulous knitting cart.

  7. Thanks for sharing! I have to make my way to Ikea also and get that cart.

  8. I simply LOVE your new cart. 🙂

  9. I’ve been eyeing that same cart at IKEA – I love what you did with it!

    • Thanks! I thought about painting the bins as well, in various shades of blue, but I really just wanted to put it together and start using it!

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

