One Lupine, Bangor, Maine – another unsolicited shop review   6 comments

I mentioned in my Friday list going hunting for One Lupine in Bangor. I had run across it on Ravelry, and done a few half-hearted searches for it when in town. A while ago, I decided to get serious and look the address up on Mapquest.

Then I left without the map, but I knew it was somewhere up in back of the library, so I headed that way.

Turns out it is easy to find if you head up behind the library and don’t mind turning around (because it will be behind you.)

And it is worth turning around!

It is the first floor and basement of a nice old brick building. The first floor is gallery space for local artisans of all types – there was silk, jewelry, felt, pottery, paper. All beautifully displayed and well made. And not horrifically over priced! Wow.

But I was quickly drawn downstairs, where the yarn is. They carry a few lines, but most impressive is their own stuff, which apparently is dyed on the premises. Things are a little pricier down here, but I am in love with their soft yarn, the beautiful colors. The names are so local – Schoodic, Casco, Promenade, Asticou etc. I was pleased to see them carrying products from two people I know – they had Done Roving sock yarn, and then buttons and needles and stitch markers from Shipyard Point Glassworks.

I was sad I had spent my whole yarn stash earlier in the week, I could have spent a huge amount of money here. Instead, I kept my purchases fairly small – buttons and things only, but I will be back! And for more than just yarn, there are plenty of gifties upstairs.

And they have spinning wheels, and the woman there said there is another woman who teaches 1-on-1 spinning lessons. And they had the prettiest batts and braids….

6 responses to “One Lupine, Bangor, Maine – another unsolicited shop review

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a fun event to go to.

  2. It sounds like heaven. I had never heard of Done Roving. I am loving some of their colorways. How is their yarn in say a fingering weight? Does the dye rub off while you are knitting? Does it pill? How does it wear? Fiber content?

    Why don’t they have any yarn stores where I live?

    slippedstitches
    • LOL – glad you checked it out. I don’t know why there are no yarn stores near you – it does seem crazy. Maybe when you get a moment you should start one?

      I used the fingering weight several years ago to make a scarf. It was in a variegated red (Kettle dyed effect, really. The yarn is very soft and wears well, that garment hasn’t pilled and seems color fast. I also knit a vest in a blue and green boucle – as with many hand-dyed, skeins were not consistent in color, so I alternated them,a dn it came out fine. Also no pilling.

      Yarn content varies – I know the sock yarn is wool and nylon…
      come to think of it, I also used some lace weight silk blend – that, I felt had not enough elasticity for the project I did with it, so I was disappointed, but that was probably me, not the yarn.

      You probably could contact Paula directly to ask her for more info on the content, and she could tell you where you could get it (or ship you some). I love the colors, and I love supporting their very small, very rural operation. But I have a hard time finding it in stores, too – even though she is local, she is not everywhere. But now I know where I can get some!

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

