Beads on Cannon   4 comments

This is an unsolicited review of a shop I found while visiting Charleston, SC.

While I was seriously disappointed to find NOT ONE yarn store in Charleston proper, in my search for one, I came across a store called “Beads on Cannon“.

It is a bit north of the historic district, but it is right on the free bus route. The day we went out to Middleton Place, I had A drop me off there on the way back into town. It was very easy to find as we came into town from the plantation.

On the outside, the shop is very unobtrusive, located in a Charleston Single style house in a not as well maintained neighborhood as we were used to seeing in Charleston. In fact, A refused to leave until I went in and confirmed it really was the shop and I felt OK. I later found out that she circled the area looking for a parking space to wait for me, instead of going back to the hotel to relax as we had originally planned. However, she could not find one, and I was FINE. (So note, parking can be an issue here, apparently.)

Once I walked in the door and was greeted by the proprietress (I think her name is Lisa) I knew I was in bead heaven.

All the ads I saw said the selection was huge, the store is BIG. Well, the store isn’t big, but the selection is HUGE! I don’t know how she fit all those beads in, and people, too! There are two rooms, one up, one down. Down is mostly glass beads, up is precious gemstones, findings, etc. I wandered about with my basket for at least an hour before I made my selections.

It was almost overwhelming! I didn’t have a particular project in mind, which made it harder to shop, really, but I found a beautiful silver sea star pendant, and then got some beads that might go with it for a necklace. I also picked up some cut glass beads for knitting, and some garnets I just couldn’t resist. Not sure what they will be. Some pearls I got in the hopes that I can figure a way to knit with them. I’ll let you know how that goes.

Beads on Cannon

My choices in no way reflect the true scope of the beads she has. I have never seen such an array of good quality beads in one place. Big boxes have more selection (maybe) but her quality is much better than you will find at them.

While I was there other shoppers came in and got great assistance as they looked for particular things. One woman was designing a necklace, and the creative process was fun to watch.

They do offer classes, and will even make the things you design if you want them to. It was pretty amazing to see all that they had in the place and all that they would do to help a person. If I ever am in Charleston again, I will go better prepared with a bead list!

In fact, next time I have a bead list, I think I will call them and see if they ship…

4 responses to “Beads on Cannon

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is exactly the sort of store we should all be supporting–woman entrepreneur, great customer service, high-quality items. For that, I don’t mind spending more!

  2. Count me in the support group. The beads looked interesting and I have such a weakness for beaded jazz age sweaters like those found in the 1920s. Oh my, what about Yarn Rascal? He hasn’t been exposed to beads, thin crochet needles and the such. Maybe when he’s older. Today he’s just be a true little rascal.

    slippedstitches
    • I also love beaded sweaters adn things – used to have a lovely black beaded dress. But I don’t have much call for things like that in my life anymore, so I have been sticking to jewelry. Still, a lovely, slightly beaded cardigan could be worn to work, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

