A random post with a Friday list in there someplace   7 comments

I know it isn’t Friday yet, but I also know how absolutely crazy things have been lately. So, I am writing it now, and am taking a moment to get you caught up with this negligent blogger!

Crimson Crow did come over last Saturday for a craft day. We mostly talked, but we did work on things – she made a really pretty star-shaped book, and some cards. I worked on a collage that I don’t think I like. I might scrap it. But I might not. It was great fun to sit and mess about while we talked and talked; and A had women’s basketball on the TV.

Sunday was stormy (rain!) and so involved more crafting, alone, and watching basketball with A. Good weekend! I got some new spellbinder’s dies at AC Moore last week, and am using them to make some thank you cards for my tax volunteers. I’ll try to remember to get photos before I give them out.

Then the crazy week began, and it has been wild, including another danged snowstorm, which was completely unpredicted and so caught a whole lot of people by surprise in places they would rather not be. I got caught in traffic on the way home (if you have ever been here, you will know how very bizarre this is) caused by a fatal car accident. The roads iced up fast and DOT was not able to keep up. Some poor kid spun out and was hit broadside by an oncoming car. Horrible.

Lots of tax appointments this week and next, and then I begin to catch up on all that I have let slide over the last several weeks… which brings me to my Friday list – taxes in Milbridge with two other volunteers. It will be a long day, but it is our last one there. In fact, it is my last “remote” site visit for this year. After this, all my tax days are in Ellsworth; at the office and the library.

On a more fun note – finished another pair of socks! They are cozy warm, and pretty blue with green touches. Keep on loving Tosh sock yarn, but only have one more skein…

sws#5 complete

sws#5 complete a

…and here it is! This pair will be a bit different, the tide pool pattern pictured on the front of the book. I am using the color denim, which is a soft pale blue, no bright stripes like in the picture, but I think it will show the nice lacy pattern.

sws#6 at the start

After this pair, I might make something with this great, bright yarn I got from Dyeabolical yarns, using a discount theknittingsarah got for the Sock KAL. Or, I might make something with the dark gray I got last week. But I am guessing it will be the bright. I feel a need for colors….

dyeabolical

Also been working on rippled necklaces – finished one in soft beige silk with amethyst colored beads. I hope to get a good photo of that to share. Now I have one started that is black and gray. Sounds boring, I know, but it looks really nice.

How will I ever sell all of these necklaces? I love them all. πŸ™‚

I also finished Mrs Beeton’s beaded ruffled mitts. Not sure I will really use them like I thought I would, and the pattern was a pain in the *** to follow, but now that I have it figured out, I know I can make them again and adapt them into something I am more likely to wear. I’ll try to get a photo of these, as well.

Saturday, Mom and I are meeting in Camden, where we think there might be a yarn store we have not yet discovered. How could that be? πŸ™‚ If it is true, it will be a good thing, as it means that between Mom and me there are three LYS, plus one alpaca farm which does its own dying. Very expensive to go see Mom!

So that’s what I have been up to – how about you?

7 responses to “A random post with a Friday list in there someplace

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ohhh I like the three lys and the alpaca farm. I like the little alpaca faces.Wow try to post pics of the beaded ruffled mitts and the soft beige silk amethyst necklace.

  2. Love all the yarns…my colours πŸ™‚

  3. I love socks, and yours are stunning. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

