Socks with Sarah Pair #3   12 comments

sws #3 toe

In keeping with the KAL rule to knit some on socks each day, I cast on the next pair.

This is ancient yarn from the stash, label long gone. By the colors, I would say I got it in the 90’s. 🙂 It feels like a wool blend.

This is left over from socks I made a long time ago. I have this ball plus another skein, so I know there is enough for a pair and then some.

Check out the cute little needle! Thanks to Claire of Mollie and Claire, who showed one in a post recently, I scored one of these on Amazon. It took a bit of getting used to, but I LOVE not dealing with multiple needles when making socks. I might have to get a couple more in different sizes….

Posted February 13, 2014 by salpal1 in what I am making

Tagged with , , ,

12 responses to “Socks with Sarah Pair #3

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay for tiny needles! I love them. I like your colour way!

  2. I’ve seen needles like these and have been tempted to buy them. But I work my socks toe-up and I usually like to have a heel flap. How would a heel flap be handled on these needles?

    • hmmm. I am not sure. I am doing toe up, so had to use double points at first, until I had increased my toe enough to go around the needle. I don’t do a heel flap, so I am not sure, but I would think it would work, if you put the instep stitches on a holder, right? It wouldn’t really be any different that double points at that time. These did take a bit of getting used to, but now I am flying throught the rounds. I have to be careful or these will be socks for a giant. 🙂

  3. Love the colors in that yarn cake. The socks are going to be beautiful. I’ve never made socks because of the multiple needles. Your circular looks so tiny, not sure I could work that either. I will enjoy watching your socks grow.

    • Ginny, it sure is tiny, so might not be for everyone. Claire warned me about that, but I thought it worth a try. So far, so good. too bad you aren;t next door, I cold let you borrow it to try it.
      I’ll keep posting my progress, and let you all know how it goes when I turn the heel.

  4. I love that needle. I never knew they made them so small before. On my shopping list.

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

