While the cat is away….   8 comments

A is off to the County for the week. That leaves me home alone. I’ve been making the most of it.

The red sweater is on the guest room bed drying, having relaxed a lot in the blocking process. I think it will fit a lot better. The neck is a lot less loose this year than when I made it last year – not sure what I did differently this time, but I like it. It will roll a bit when I wear it, as it is stockinette at the edges.

red sweater complete

red sweater neck complete

Here’s the light blue necklace I made – color is paler than it shows in this shot, hard (as always) to get the light to reflect the sparkly beads without distorting the rest. So, no flash, just lots of lights on. (Sun would be nice, wouldn’t it?)

blue rippled

Then I strung beads for a couple more of the same – the beads are more gold than red, on the beige. Again, a lighting issue, I guess. I can’t wait to get these done and see how they come out. I do love the Laura Nelkin designs for knitted jewelry. And I love how the silk works up.

all set to go!

After that – swatches for a knit vest I have had in the queue for a long time. I have some really old Reynolds Lopi that I want to use, but I could not tell from the label nor the directions how heavy the yarn was. The pattern (Oat Couture’s Oregon vest) gives directions for three weights, and I checked them all. It seems that it hits gauge at the heaviest one, but I don’t like the fabric then, it feels too loose. So, I’m making the middle one and adjusting the size to account for the difference. Have it all cast on already. A will be surprised to see me knitting in periwinkle when she left me in red. 🙂 She would be more surprised to find blocked swatches drying on the counters over night. 🙂

swatches

I have to say, it feels GOOD to be able to cast on something different – that red sweater has been my WIP for what feels like ages. 🙂

Also, I have decided to amend my 2 WIP rule during the sock KAL. I think I need to have three. One is always socks, the others will probably follow my usual pattern – something large and something small. Right now, that is a necklace and a sweater vest. I do love casting on… Not alone in that, am I? The socks are coming along, I have a couple more inches of leg to go. Working on them some every day is really making amazing things happen. How many pairs will I have at the end of the year???

Meanwhile, life goes on. It snows. Today we are to get 7-13 inches. Unfortunately, it was not snowing early enough this morning, so I had to go to work. We were dismissed at noon, so then got to drive home in a raging snowstorm. Sigh. Better, I guess than doing the same thing after dark. So, I shoveled my way into the house and here I will stay until morning when I get to go back to work. And it won’t snow again for a couple of days – amazing. They think the next storm will be a big one – I hope it goes south of us, I am so sick of winter…sometimes I think I will never be warm again. It must be time to start looking at the seed catalogs. Spring has to come, right?

8 responses to “While the cat is away….

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh it’s the worst when the snow day is declared after you’ve already gotten to work/school! I remember when I was young, they used to announce the school closures on the local radio, we’d be always hoping our school would be announced before the bus was due to arrice (Of course, being Ireland, this did not happen very often because we get snow pretty rarely!)

    • lol, I have similar memories, gathered in the kitchen waiting to hear it. 🙂 Yes, it does stink to have it happen after we get to work, but it is better than not happening at all!

  2. Love the red sweater. I like to use the roll of st st as part of the design element in sweaters. The necklace is lovely. If you want to play around with photography. Try a dark grey or black background, place a sheet of white paper so it catches the light from a window (what light? We haven’t seen sun in I don’t know how long now.) reflect it onto the necklace. When photographing crystal or silver, photographers use black backgrounds, indirect lighting that bounces from white surfaces and strategically place black pieces of electrical tape so the black reflects in the surface of the objects at desired points.

    • thanks for the tips – I will try it! The background is a medium gray sheet, but I will use some black paper or something on the next one. And reflect the sun next summer. Maybe I can reflect it all the way to winter? 🙂

  3. Your red sweater looks fabulous! Love the pattern and the rolled neck is perfect.

  4. I’m always impressed at how much you accomplish! I think you have winter to thank for that–stuck inside, knitting is a perfect pastime!

    • well, thanks! I do knit some every day. And you are right, winter weather DOES help – can;t do much outside. If I must be inside, I might as well be productive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

