Snow? On Saturday?   3 comments

oh-ho, Mother Nature, you messed up your calendar again! Of course, you realized it, and so tomorrow we will get more snow showers. Thanks a bunch.
Yesterday went pretty much as planned, I drove all the way to Calais (100 miles through beautiful wilderness) and only was about half way there when I realized no passport, so – no chocolate. Very sad.

Did the work I needed to d and was home again by about 3:30. A was already home, feeling like she was coming down with a cold. But she was still up for the fundraiser, so we headed to Ellsworth, collected my boss and went to Governor’s for some pie before the event. We can always count on J to join us for a meal or dessert. πŸ™‚

The fundraiser was very well attended – we stayed until intermission, and I loved the music, although I could have done without the staged bantering that happened between acts. I’ll find out next week how much was raised, but it was close to $10,000 when we left. Not bad!!! I also could have done without the person near me who was doused in perfume – when we left I had watering eyes, a stuffed head and a sinus headache, and it wasn’t all because I am catching A’s cold.

Today is a slow day, A’s cold is here in full force, and I can feel my head filling up. I am swallowing lots of juice, vitamins, etc. She is swallowing lots of cold medicine, and sleeping a lot, which is good. I suspect I will be doing the same tomorrow. Not that I was a ball of fire today…

I (Finally) made my niece B her birthday card, it was a lot warmer in the craft room today, so I took advantage. The required glitter should be dry tomorrow so I will drop that in the mail to her.

I stayed in bed late today, and read a whole novel – been a long time since I did that – Lisa Gardiner’s Touch and Go. Her stories are creepy scary but fast paced and good reading. I love that she has contests to name her victims after real people. I can’t think of anyone I want to kill off, so I have never entered. But it is fun to read about them in the notes.

Of course, I did a bit of sock knitting, a couple of rows before I went upstairs. And now I will go do a couple of rows on the red sweater. I am determined to finish it before it is too warm to wear it. πŸ™‚

3 responses to “Snow? On Saturday?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds like you have a while to finish the sweater yet…..hope you both feel better soon.

  2. Feel better soon, both of you.

    • thanks – I think Airborne is once again saving me from the worst of it. A doesn’t believe in it, she would rather take dayquil, nyquil any quil she can get, but I can’t take those, so I try to avoid getting sick.

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

