what I see   14 comments

office view January 2 2014

Let’s start outside… this is a view out my office window Monday – around 3:30 (which is seriously depressing). It hasn’t changed much since then, but by Monday night, it might. We are on track to get a lovely storm of wintry mix that ends as rain. Will that rain freeze? Or will it wash away all of this ice and snow?

I took these photos today when I went out to move the car so the plow guy can clean up the parking area. I was out a while, thought it was pretty warm out until I came in and my glasses totally fogged up. I checked the thermometer. 14 degrees F. And it felt warm. It will be a long winter.

diamonds

diamonds 1

diamonds 2

ice house

What I see inside – so much more cheerful!

Here is my red star. A thinks it is a new Christmas ornament, but I might have to keep it up all winter, I love it so much. So warm and cozy. I wonder when she will notice? 🙂

Christmas star

Remember when I said I wanted to make a pompom garland, thanks to all of you who did amazing things with pom poms? I did it one afternoon last week, and here it is. I think it makes the loft railing look cheerful and merry.

pom pom garland

And on my needles? Last winter, I made this great red sweater, from Tom Scott, as shown in Vogue Knitting. But the bobbles weren’t right on me, and it wasn’t long enough.

wip red sweater

So, I ripped it all out, changed the bobbles to another cable and started again. This time, I am making it as long as the large size, and it will have to do because I am NOT ripping it out and reknitting it again. I LOVE the red color and warmth of it – it is Lamb’s Pride bulky, in blood-red (number 80, I think.) It works up fast, and I should be wearing it before the end of winter. (Which might mean May, I know. 😦 )

wip red sweater redux

14 responses to “what I see

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That star really is lovely. I’d leave it up too…. Hope the snow will melt soon for you! I’m ready for spring and we didn’t even have any snow yet…

  2. The red star, the red sweater–they add warmth just with their colors!

    • so, too. I am beginning to think I decorate like the scandinavians – lots of white and pale blues and grays, then pops of warm red. Anyway, it seems cheerful to me, and cozy. Which is good, this year.

  3. I love your house! American houses are sooo much larger than ours! You definitely should keep the star up. It isn’t *that* Christmassy!! And LOVING the pom-poms…

    • Thanks – it is a big house, bigger than we actually need, but we love it. I agree about the star. I could just leave it up until summer, and call it a patriotic decoration, right?? The pom poms are fun. A isn;t so sure about them. but the cats love them. 🙂

  4. We are getting the awful white stuff now. Probably a good 8 or 9 inches out there and it will continue through the day and night 😦 I wonder how much we will end up with. And then it’s on to you. Stay warm and get your errands done now. The stores here were a huge mess yesterday. You might have thought it was the end of the world. And maybe it is..since I don’t go out in the snow. I love your red star and think it will be nice hanging there all winter. Your pom-pom garland is really cute. Good luck with your red sweater. You may want to knit faster so that you can wear it this week 😉

    • oh, I hope you get yours cleaned up soon. Today was a “warm” day – really it was, close to 30 in teh sun. Which left us in the afternoon, so the storm clouds could roll in. Tonight we get a wintry mix, tomorrow rain. I wonder what that will do to all of the stuff on the ground? They promise us a quick freeze following the storm. Sigh.

  5. lots of lovely red to cheer things up in January!

  6. Beautiful photographs xx

  7. Great photographs! Love the star and pom-pom garland, neither of which would last long around here.

    • thanks! YR could not get the star, it is hanging high, but the pom poms would be gone, you are right, he could get them with a bit of jumping. 🙂

      I wonder if they make kevlar yarn?

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

