so long 2013   14 comments

Just thinking about the year behind and the year ahead. Strange thing happened tonight at work. A client my boss J has been working with for a long time called last week. We have been trying to reach him ever since, no luck. A few times this week, my boss drove by to be sure lights were on and plowing was done. Tonight, J went over to check on him, and found him lying on the floor, non-responsive. He called us back at the office, and we called the police; then headed over, not sure what we would find, but not wanting J to be there alone. Long story short. Guy lives in a place I wouldn’t want my worst enemy to live in, but he has resisted help for a long time, obviously some mental health issues. We have worked to keep him warm and fed, and not pushed the cleanliness piece of things. He is in his 80’s, has lived in this house his whole life and except for trash, has left it exactly as it was when his mother died, maybe 40 years ago? Piano music still open on the piano, that sort of thing. Tonight he was carted off to the hospital, his sister who lives next door did not come see what the ruckus was about. Such a dismal lonely existence! After the ambulance left, we moved some trash so we could leave his heater on so his pipes don’t freeze and returned to the office.

It made me seriously so appreciative of how I live and what I have, and what I do not have.

So what I thought would be thinking about knitting and crafting and gardening wishes and hopes will have some other stuff mixed in.

First – what HAVE I done this past year?

Got married and did some traveling with my wonderful sweetie.

A "posing" happily... which changed when I said it was going on my blog!

A “posing” happily… which changed when I said it was going on my blog!

boat and lighthouse

make way

I discovered Elizabeth Zimmerman, and am in love.
pi shawl 1 and zumba

Crocheted a whole blanket in the CAL – and finished it! Been a long time since I finished a project that big.
complete at last

Learned to make toe up socks… with yarn I dyed myself!
toe up 4

all the tools

Gave away lots and lots of hats.
purple baby hats

Did more sewing than I have done in years – all simple, fast and fun.
E's skirt 2

Adopted a new little cat who was headed to a shelter.
tigger's first day
Tigger  in her new room

Enjoyed my little pool, and sadly, saw its demise.
pool today

Made lots of fun cards for people I care about.
Diane

Won so many awards and blog giveaways that I can’t believe it!

Read lots of interesting books with the book group, and enjoyed my monthly meetings with them.
Made so many more things than I can show here, I just have been a knitting fool this year.

Had lots of changes at work, some hard, some not so hard, had to let go of lots of things.

Found so many wonderful bloggers, all inspiring me with what they do.

That’s my 2013.
….

I started this post last night and that’s as far as I got, because A called to me from where she was playing with the cats in the bedroom while I sat knitting in front of the fire “Won’t you come in here so we can talk?” I did, and we talked about 2014 and what we wanted to accomplish.

Neither of us really “do” resolutions, but we both set goals. Our goals for ourselves this year revolve around things like keeping the credit card under control, as it was a hard-fought battle with continued minor skirmishes to get it where it is today; unpack the books! (this involves building bookcases and painting a room, so is not as easy as it sounds on the surface); eat less food, more of it good for us; exercise more, especially in winter; do the homework we need to so we can begin building the garage (this means calling the septic guy and getting the design work done so we can see if we can afford to do it now, or just put the pipes in where they need to go and get the slab poured and the shell built. We dream of this as we shovel those cars out every other day….)

Those are “our” goals. Then we each have individual goals.

Mine are more like “things to keep in mind that I would like to accomplish” as I go through my year.

I have long wanted to have enough hand knit socks so that I could wear them every day with every outfit. I may even have mentioned it here. This morning, Sarah posted this lovely KAL for 2014, and I promptly signed on. Knit on socks every day. I can do that. I have enough sock yarn in my stash that I bet I won’t have to buy any more for months.

I want to keep on going on hats to give away, it means so much to the recipients, as I know personally from my work.

I want to keep up connections with my family. It is so easy to get wrapped up in our individual lives, and we live just far enough apart that it is easy to let time go by. So I will continue to push knitting gatherings, and drive where ever I have to to make it happen. Even though it drives me NUTS that my house is too far for everyone to come, yet they expect me to go to theirs. I just have to let that go, huh? If it is my thing to keep us together, then I have to make it work.

I want to work on reducing the fabric stash. That means some more skirts for work, and a pretty jacket I have all ready to go.

I want to work on the yard more this summer. Not just maintenance, but now that the construction is nearly complete, and should be, by spring, I want to put some of our plans into action. New pool, grapes, terrace, maybe some real gardens? I know I can’t do it all this summer, but I don’t want to let the summer get away with no progress made.

I NEED to clean the craft room, get it organized so I can work in it, not just at one table. That might mean releasing some supplies, building new shelves. Not sure, but it is overwhelming right now. I think I might need to go back to flylady.net for a refresher course.

I want to figure out how to earn at least a little money with my crafts. Not sure how this will shake out, but I have put it off long enough. I have one hat pattern that I think works up fast enough, is customizable and cute that it could be priced right, but I have to see if anyone else wants to wear one, and pay for it. I’ll explore that. Cards? Maybe, but I see them priced too cheaply everywhere I go. Why are handmade cards CHEAPER than grocery store cards???? Another post, I am sure.

Oh yeah – the blog! Well, you have all been so nice, caring about what I am up to each day, it amazes me. I’ll keep blogging, keep making my Friday lists (warning – during tax season, they will get pretty boring!), letting you know what I come up with and the progress I am making on things.

When I look over this list, and it seems the same as every day. Life goes on, I guess. We try our best to make it better, and we take lots of small steps forward. Sometimes we fall backwards, sometimes we clear a hurdle. When I think where I was 20 years ago and where I am today, it boggles the mind. I am married to a wonderful woman. I have enough of everything. I am very lucky, and goals, resolutions, plans, call them what you will, will not make me happier or luckier. Appreciating what I have will. So while I am keeping busy with all these things, I need to be sure to take a few minutes now and then to really appreciate how very lucky I am. And in case I forget, now and then a situation like last night will remind me forcibly to do it.

Posted January 1, 2014 by salpal1 in how I spent my day, how it came out

14 responses to “so long 2013

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Happy New Year! I am in awe of your list of things to accomplish in 2014. I can never do that; list what I’d like to get done. I have to take it one day at a time or I’d probably try to hang myself with my cobweb yarn. I am sorry about the older gentleman. A common occurrence, unfortunately. All we can do is offer and keep offering help, but it is up to the one we’re trying to help to reach out and grab it. For some people it is very hard to accept help of any kind. Oh, now that I think of it I do have one item on the front burner for 2014: filling up a box with handmade hats and gloves and sending it north to a great woman in Maine who will know exactly what to do with it.

    • Happy new year to you, too! A and I are planners, for sure, and there is so much I want to see finished that I have to list it or I will lose track, and get distracted by the next idea. πŸ™‚

      You are right about help. if he wants to live in filth, then he will, no matter what. But we know that he had food available to him, and he had an electric heater, and he knew he could call on us for help if he needed it. He often did, but not this time. The hospital told us he likely will not make it. His sister said to let her know when he dies. Yikes, don’t want to know what went on there. She lives next door in an immaculate home. He hads trash thickly covering his floor. What a story there is there, I think. Anyway… Wow! a box of hats and gloves. I would be honored to accept it and I DO know exactly what to do with it. πŸ™‚ You are a good woman.

  2. What a very fine year you have had and such a grounded, sensible attitude toward moving forward–inspiring to read!

  3. Great post. It is easy to forget what we have as we strive to achieve more in our lives. A happy new year to you both. X

  4. Happy New Year! Sounds like 2013 was a pretty good year for you. I wish you a great 2014 and that all of your hopes and dreams come true and all of your goals are met. I hope that your friend will be ok and things get better for him.

    • Thanks, Ginny. It was a good year! The client likely will not get better, but we did what we could to care for him these last several months. I think my boss is struggling with this, as he wants to save everyone, and now and then it hits him that he can’t. This time it hit him hard in the face.

  5. wow! you were a busy little bee in 2013 and it sounds like you’re going to be as busy as ever during the year to come

  6. Have a wonderful 2014, you are well set for it!

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

