Best Christmas present ever   6 comments

t’s been a long two days. Power went out Monday afternoon. Ice storm didn’t really stop until Tuesday morning.

We chipped out the cars, kept the wood stove in the cellar going, which kept the house up to about 60 degrees, until the wind and bitter cold moved in. then it was rough keeping it up to 60.

But the cellar was warm, so we knew we were OK, even though we don’t have a lot of firewood.

Everywhere we went Tuesday (for hot coffee, the mail, etc) we heard the same word from the power company – no lights until Friday!

So, we packed the contents of the fridge and freezer into coolers and buried them in banks of ice, melted ice on the wood stove, and hunkered down.

A had the brilliant idea that we should open our presents to each other early, so we could see what we got in daylight. We decided to do it where we could be warm, so we carried everything down to the cellar, and what a picture!

Presents piled on the workbench, us very grubby sitting in lawn chairs in front of the fire. Only in Maine!

The sad part was that we each got the other a nice big present that required electricity, so it was a bit anticlimactic. I got her a digital camera that has rechargeable batteries, and she got me a TV with a dvd player for the craft room! Very exciting, as I like to watch movies when I sew, and haven’t been able to since we moved in here.

Today with the bitter cold, I went to Mom’s alone, A stayed home and tended the fire, then, in the middle of the day headed up to see her sister L for lunch, and snagged a shower, too.

I showered at Mom’s, and had a nice day with her and B, my brother C and sister, brother-in-law and niece little E. My other brother N and his family stayed home because N and his son are sick, and they have no power, so he didn’t want to leave the house that long, and the girls decided to stay home with him. So we were a quiet group, with plenty of food to eat, and E got lots of attention as the only kid. 🙂

I left there around 4 and headed back, and as I got closer to our house, I noticed lots of power company trucks and tree trucks around, and houses with lights. The closer I got to home the more excited I was to see lights on. And I turned down our lane and saw it – a light on at our house!

I came in not to a cold dark house as I had imagined, but to one where the dishwasher was running (yeah!) the pellet stove was fired up and the tree lights were on.

Yahoo! Wonderful Christmas gift! Thank you, Central Maine Power Company! I don’t think I could have stood no coffee for two more days. And the dishes were piling up in the sink.

And I have a new TV and lots of movies to watch!
Which is good because, unbelievably, it is going to snow tomorrow and into Friday.

Posted December 25, 2013 by salpal1 in how it came out

Tagged with , , ,

6 responses to “Best Christmas present ever

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How much we all depend on power. Glad you all stayed warm. Enjoy the TV. Maybe Friday’s storm won’t be as bad. I gotta tip my hat to CMP. The electric company down here wouldn’t be able to put us back on line for weeks if that happened here.

    • Both CMP and Bangor Hydro are doing a great job, but now they are stuck with the last 6-8 thousand who are the harder cases. It will be next Wednesday before they are all online, but we are getting another storm Sunday into Monday. It will slow things down even more. But it should be just snow, which is so much easier to deal with.

  2. A christmas you will remember!

  3. An interesting time indeed. I couldn’t get down my road due to downed lines. When I turned around to figure out if I could get home I heard a LOUD bang followed by the lovely waterfall sound of ice and branches falling. A few moments later. Again! Two huge pine limbs had crashed to the ground a few feet from where I had just been.a long detour, I came home the back road. Mistake! Well, it got me home but I understand more about why we see cars (with people in them) being washed away in flash floods…I WANT TO GET HOME! I drove under wires dangling and whole trees leaning. Each successive risk I took I could see images of those consumed cars more clearly, but did it anyway! Safe and sound in my warm house only to get up and work all day Christmas. But it was sweet. And now I have a 4 day weekend.

    • I have been wondering about you, and how you are doing. Glad you made it home, to work and home again. Now stay there! Assuming fom this post that you have electricity…and all the delights it brings (pun intended). Enjoy your long weekend. PS saw the write up on Shaw House in DE mag… no mention of you. 😦

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

