weekend update   2 comments

Sunday afternoon already…. where do the weekends go?

Friday I had a nice time at Mom’s, although it was short – we had lunch at a place in Rockland, and then headed back to her house to knit and chat for an hour or so. Here’s the really amazing part – she said “Do you NEED anything at Over the Rainbow?” (that’s her LYS, and I love it there) and I said “No, I am set.” Can you believe it? I must have been feeling ill or something. 🙂

Anyway, after I left her, A and I went to Ellsworth to have supper at Finelli’s. They make the best pizza in Ellsworth, maybe in Maine.

Our next stop was to be the World AIDS day event that Down East Aids Network help at the Library. But as we had an hour or so to kill, we went up to Home Depot to walk. Why we think we can just exercise there, I do not know. We got a lot of interesting things while we were there.

We did get to the DEAN event, where we visited with a few people and I was able to check out my silent auction bids, and up one a wee bit.

Saturday A and I split up and she headed up to Bangor to get the car serviced, and have breakfast with her sister. I headed to Ellsworth for the craft fair and to do some Christmas shopping for our “secret” family. This was my last chance craft fair, and it was the best yet, but not great. Two good things – there was a lady selling knit things, and her hats were priced at $30 – yeah! – and a papercrafter I have known for years was there, so I bought a few things from her, and a few handmade glass beads from another vendor. I got out of there in time to cross town before the 11:00 Christmas parade. Whew! I hit Reny’s to buy Christmas gifts. A and I always volunteer to provide gifts to a family who calls our work Christmas program. This year, we got a family with three small kids. It always gets me when they ask for warm clothes and simple toys. These kids did, so I got each one an outfit and a few toys, which of course meant I spent more than I had planned. BUT I did take long enough that the parade was over when I was finished and I was able to get home again.

Since then, I have been spending my time gluing and glittering, I think I will get the cards that have to be mailed finished today, and will just have a few more to do for hand delivering. Then I must knit… I mostly do that while glitter dries.

Update on the lips – the eighth treatment is when I really started noticing the discomfort and blistering. I’ve got ten done now, and it is really nasty. Not sure I will make it to 14 but I am going to really try.

2 responses to “weekend update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. One day at a time. Each treatment is one less. Remember, it’s just for today that you have to apply the treatment.

    • thanks – yes, I am determined to finish the course, and take it one day at a time. Yesterday was rough, but today is not so bad. only two more treatments, then I can start healing.

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

