Can you blow bubbles? altered paper   11 comments

I read lots of paper crafting and card making magazines, and in one recently was a card which featured paper altered by blowing bubbles. It looked intriguing, so I began messing about, and thought I would share it with you. I have been working on this post for a while, you will see it is not a fast project, but I thought it a fun experiment. Perhaps when someone in my household says I am just playing up in the craft room, it is true?

I am trying to make a nice red and gold that could be used for Christmas cards.
So, first, I gathered supplies. I am using three colors of paint – a bright red, a dark burgundy/maroon color, and a gold metallic.

You also see a small plastic cup, mod podge, dish detergent, waxed paper, a straw.

paper painting supplies

Put a layer of waxed paper or other protective surface down on your table, and lay a piece of water-color paper on it.

In the cup mix a small amount of dish soap and paint, in about equal portions. Then a tiny bit of water, and stir.
paper painting mixing

Take the straw and blow some test bubbles. If you need to add a bit more water, go ahead, but it is better not to add to much. Once you can really blow bubbles, do it! Let the bubbles over flow into a heap on the paper. The more bubbles, the more paint you will have at the end, so don’t go overboard (like I did).

paper painting bubbles

Then go away and leave it alone. The bubbles will pop, and settle, and the paint will pool. That’s good!

paper painting waiting

paper painting and waiting

Now the hardest part – wait for it to dry before repeating with the next color. I used the gold here for the second color. I did pick the paper up off the waxed paper before layering the next color, and I used a new piece of waxed paper before the third color.

paper painting gold bubbles

Same process, then the burgundy, just for depth, so not many bubbles on this layer.

paper painting burgundy bubbles 2

Let it dry thoroughly. I cut mine to the size I wanted at this point, then put two layers of mod podge on it, letting it dry between layers. This is a step I added to the original directions, because I used a scented dish soap, and it was unbearably perfumed. The mod podge sealed that, but it also gave the paper a really nice texture, almost leathery.

paper painting done

Now, do whatever you want with it – cards, labels, hang it on the wall as is, use it in a collage. I made some earlier with other colors, and spritzed it with tattered angels shimmer spray – it settled in the brush strokes of the mod podge and gave it a totally different look.

Here’s what I did with mine:
finished card 1

I am not sure I will do this often, it takes forever, with all the drying time, but I do like the finished product, even if it is hard to photograph because of the shine on the mod podge. It is very textured, more than just a smoothly printed paper.

11 responses to “Can you blow bubbles? altered paper

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I do this children 🙂 Just don’t suck instead of blow!

  2. Very cool! Thanks for sharing it 🙂

  3. Very cool technique.

  4. I will never, ever try this unless I am somehow snowed in at your house, with you and your craft room. I am far too impatient! Your final card is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

