A Few Odds and Ends   2 comments

First off – can you believe, I won another giveaway?????? This one is a copy of the Downton Abbey pattern book, which I have eyed in the store more than once, only to put it down again. Thanks very much to Rohn Strong over at Modern/Vintage for hosting the giveaway. I can’t wait to really check it out and make a few things.

I think I must have a friend with the random number generators. Now to take this good luck to the lottery ticket counter….

Other news – I had my appointment with the dermatologist last week, did I mention? Remaining spots on my back can stay. No more work there this year. BUT. Dry peeling patch on my lip has to go. And how it goes? A chemo ointment that causes sun damaged skin to blister and peel. It is simple – you just apply the ointment nightly for 14 days, and look like some canker-sored monster for a month. I start that Thanksgiving evening. Should be done and healed by Christmas. But it means for all the holiday parties, gatherings, etc., I will not be pretty. No holiday photos for me!

A and I are on vacation next week, and as a result, I am working long, late hours this week, trying to get everything done. I won’t make it, but I might get the critical things done. Just one more day….

So I should head home now, or I won’t have the energy to get up in the morning and do it all again. Friday list is shaping up nicely, I think. No work, I hope, but maybe something fun! Maybe I will clean photos off the camera and share with you – there are lots!

2 responses to “A Few Odds and Ends

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Enjoy your vacation. That’s good news from the doctor. Last year this time I found the lump in my breast on thanksgiving morning. Told no one. On christmas eve at 9 pm the doctor called to confirm it was cancer and had spread to my lymph nodes. I was never big on the holidays, but that kinda put the kabosh to it for all time. The good news for you is you only have to get through one holiday with the medicine. Who knows, maybe it won’t be as bad as you think.

    • Oh, I can’t even imagine what it would be like to get that kind of news this time of year. But what a great gift that you are fighting it and winning the fight – I’ll stop complaining about my blistering face. I am lucky.

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

