Friday!   14 comments

Ahhh, Friday!

Today the older of my two little brothers, N, turns 51. I don’t remember the day he came home from the hospital, but I do remember him as a tiny baby, in those little white knit nightshirts with the drawstring at the bottom. I remember my mom adjusting that nightshirt after changing him and calling him her “little sack of potatoes” (lovingly, of course!). Funny what we remember, huh? I wasn’t quite 4 when he was born, but I clearly remember his nursery and him as a tiny boy. Seems impossible that he is now older than my grandfathers were when I was born. My baby brother is old enough to be a grandfather – yikes!

Anyway… this week’s Friday list is very different from most. I’ll get up early and hit the road to Warren, to the home of my younger baby brother (he’s only 48, a mere babe!) where I will meet him and Mom, and Mom and I will paint his living room. It is a large room, really living/dining/kitchen. He asked for our help a while ago, and Mom got sick of looking at the dingy paint so she made these arrangements. He is to have all the prep work done – nail holes filled, edges taped off, walls clean. If he really has, then painting it should not be awful. We will work on it all day, then I will stay overnight at Mom’s, and we will go finish it Saturday. It should be a fun day, really, Mom and I work well together on painting projects. Brother C is self admittedly not a good painter, so he is thrilled we are willing to help.

I’ll bring some mobile knitting – I have a couple of small projects going that can travel well. If only I had yarn stash cash left, there is a really nice yarn store near her. I do have a little in PayPal, but not sure they take that at the store. I should find out… πŸ™‚

Mom is planning on us going out for burgers for supper, and probably not much else, but we will have a good visit and catch up on life.

While I am gone, A and her sister L will go to the Maine Harvest Festival – I am sorry to miss this giant local food extravaganza, but they will surely buy me many little treats, and the cranberries I need for Thanksgiving. A will also order 2 tons of pellets, so Sunday, we will be doing or power pellet lifting, getting them in the house. Almost all ready for winter around here!

Posted November 15, 2013 by salpal1 in how I plan to spend my day, what I am making

Tagged with , ,

14 responses to “Friday!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh I love those cosy catch up weekends with family! I appreciate them all the more now that I live in a different country (I’m in France, my family is in Ireland).

  2. Have a great weekend! Also PayPal has a debit MasterCard that you can get to buy stuff with your account. Just like a bank debit, it comes out of your paypal account πŸ™‚

  3. Have a great weekend. Sounds fun. I always like doing stuff with my family like this.

  4. Best not to know if they take par pal!! Hope you have a fab time. Nice to catch up with family and be productive too.

  5. Have a great time with the family!

  6. You’re a good sister–I HATE painting! But it sounds like fun to be with the family!

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

