Saturday!   15 comments

Hey – I did EVERYTHING on that Friday list except get a haircut, which I did this morning.

The Gifted Hand show was WONDERFUL! I got some Christmas presents from a wonderful wood turner, and drooled over some of his other pieces. 🙂

I also blew my whole stash on handmade glass buttons. It’s because I made a couple of Kaleidoscope Yarns bulky button hats (http://www.kyarns.com/product/free-knitting-pattern-super-bulky-button-hat/yarn-free-knitting-patterns), and needed some pretty buttons, and Shipyard Point Glassworks (http://www.spglassworks.com/) makes such pretty, colorful ones. Bev even said she would trade me buttons for a hat – so I will be finding some pretty yarn to knit her a hat in the next few weeks.

I did NOT buy many other beautiful things I saw, including wonderful weaving by Eggemoggin Studio (http://chrisleithstudio.com/). Someday I will be loaded, and will be able to go to these shows and buy all the jewelry, handmade goods, stone and wood work that I can pack into the car. 🙂 Until then, I dream, buy bits and get ideas.

So. The snow tires are on, and flurries are in the forecast, which means that they will be wicked busy over the next few Saturdays. I got a few dvds and cds at the library, plus a book on CD. But not the book club book I went for – someone beat me to it. I’ll try our library here in town this week – thought I would have better luck at the big library. Oh well, I have a new Michael Connolly on CD to listen to on the way to work this week, and a dvd of old Perry Mason episodes, as well as a couple of movies…

In Bangor, I delivered the United Way pledges, and came right home, can you believe it? No side trips to craft or yarn or fabric stores. I am being so good. Only because I already spent the stash, and I don’t get paid until next week.. 🙂

So – today we got up early, went back to Ellsworth in two cars – got A’s snow tires on, had breakfast out, got my lug nuts tightened (they require this, and I always wondered why – aluminum wheels and steel lug nuts expand differently, making tires come loose. Mine were fine.) Then I left A to do some errands at Home Depot, and I headed back to Bucksport for that haircut I never got yesterday.

So by noon time, we had done all of the out of the house errands! We did a few things around the house, and now are settled for a break for a few minutes. I am loving this 4 day weekend. 🙂

Oh, and yesterday, I DID finish the giant gray Pi shawl! It is huge, but I will be glad of it when I am sitting at work in my chilly office this winter.

And, HUGE GOOD NEWS! The Quince and CO yarn my sister got me arrived!!!! So now I am working on finishing the luscious (and much smaller) pink shawl. It will need blocking, which the gray one didn’t, but I think I will like it as much. And it is more cheerful a color.

Got some huge bad news this morning about one of our book club ladies – long and complicated story, but J is in the hospital for rehab from back surgery and to have a round of chemo for a recurrence of non-Hodgkins lymphoma. Yikes! We can’t send fruit or flowers, but I can knit a couple of chemo hats for her to wear, in case she loses her hair (She hasn’t yet, but is likely to). She is a sweet lady, and has been in pain for months, I can’t even imagine how she is feeling right now. As soon as she is allowed to see us, we will wander down the peninsula and try to cheer her up. Or at least, distract her.

Other than that, I am just a-knitting and a-typing!

Just a reminder what the lovely pink shawl has looked like for over a month now… soon it will be done!

quince skein and balls
pi shawl 1 and zumba

15 responses to “Saturday!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How do you like the Quince & Co yarn. I’ve heard of them but have been reluctant to try them. So sorry about your book club friend. Congratulations on getting it all done. We are not near our first snowfall yet, but I wonder how Yarn Rascal will react. It will be his very first winter. He hates the rain.

    • I do like it – this is my first try with it, I am using a pretty tiny one, Finch. It is very defined and springy, should block well. My sister swears by it and rarely knits with anything else, so I am pretty sure it is all good. The colors are very soft and gentle, even the dark ones. Not a huge range, but very good quality.

      I think Yarn Rascal will have fun in the snow – until it is over his head! think of hte energy he will burn off playing. 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great day; your shawl is just gorgeous. Are you going to post pix of the buttons?! Plus I hold you completely responsible for a yarn store incident on Friday….

    • I will try to get photos – they are glass, so it is hard to do them justice without glare – but if you follow the link to her page I posted, you will get the idea. 🙂

      Really? A yarn store incident? Do tell!

      Thanks fro the shawl compliment – it is coming along… the border is tedious, but worth it in the end.

  3. What did you buy from the wood turner? I love the pink you chose for the shawl. I don’t think I have ever seen that shade before.

    • Thanks – I love it too, the shade is called “dogwood” and it has a defnite soft gray in it.

      I bought a cherry birdseye pen for my dad, and three ornaments that are a traditional shape, but have a sea urchin shell for the center ball piece. I’ll try to get a photo of them and post it later on.

  4. Hey Sal,
    I wanted to let you know that I have a free knitting group at the Orrington Public Library for adults this Tuesday from 4:30-6pm. I will be teaching Tunisian (LOL!) crochet or you can work on your own project! It is a small group but I am trying to get it to grow, bring a friend! Directions are take rt 15 through Bucksport as if you are going to brewer. When you get into Orrington you will go by the post office and then see a flashing light (center drive) turn up center drive, it is about 1/2 mile up in the building of the school but the entrance to the library is separate:) Pop by if you want:)

  5. I love Quince yarn! Very bouncy and makes cables look great.

    • ooooh, cables…. yes, I can see how they would stand right up with this yarn. I think I will have some leftover, Iw as going to make fingerless mitts, I’ll put a cable in them for sure! Thanks for the idea.

  6. That shawl is stunning. Great work.

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

