The universe is unfolding as it should   10 comments

Tomorrow is All Soul’s Day, and it is so appropriate. Tomorrow is my grandmother’s birthday. She would be 104. She made it to 103 and three weeks. On her 100th birthday, my oldest and dearest friend Kate died after a 45 year-long illness. When my grandmother heard the news, she called me, and she broke down and wept, asking me why she was still here at 100 and Kate had died after such a long hard fight, at only 50.

Who can answer that?

I miss them both every day, but lately, as this day approaches, I have been thinking about them more and more, remembering all the wonderful times I had with each of them – and with them together on many occasions. They were two of the people who knew me the best and the longest, and they are gone.

In the face of setbacks, Kate used to cheerfully say “the Universe is unfolding as it should” and I remind myself of that philosophy so often, as I did my grandmother that rainy day 4 years ago. She was still with us and Kate was gone because the universe was unfolding as it should.

We do our best, we do what is right, and the universe unfolds as it should.

Thinking of you, Ma and Kate, and all the laughs we had over so many years.
Kate – I overcome introversion and talk to strangers in line in honor of you.
Ma – I will always love the ocean and my pets in honor of you.

You are both with me in these things, I know.

Posted October 31, 2013 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about

Tagged with , , , ,

10 responses to “The universe is unfolding as it should

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful sentiments, thank you for sharing.

  2. Thank you for sharing this.

  3. My gran was also very wise. Her saying that remains with me is “if it is meant to be it will happen.” I only hope I will be as wise.

  4. Very sweet things you do in memory of your loved ones.

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

