The worst is DONE   3 comments

So. Today, October 30th is the day when quarterly federal reports have to be in. Normally, I try to get them in slightly ahead of time, but October is a tough one – our year ends 9/30, and finance has to really scramble to get all the year-end adjustments complete, and this year seems particularly bad. SO I got my reports from them yesterday, but I wasn’t in the office until today. I jumped right in, and OF course, found things that needed adjusting. My favorite go to person was out sick, so I went to my back-up – her boss. He grumbled a bit, but helped, and I got them all done and submitted BEFORE 5 o’clock!

So that means that in October, I wrote 4 grants, did three federal reports, prepped for one board retreat, did lots and lots and lots of data entry for our needs assessment plan, and provided support to a board committee as they prepared for a presentation and drafted a development plan.

It might not look like much, but when I did my time sheet for the past two weeks, there was only 1 day that I did not work at all.

So it was a lot of work to hit send on those things. And I did it. And I did it on time!

And I don’t plan to work this weekend at all. In fact, I plan to leave work early tomorrow.

But the best part?

I managed to knit 2 hats at the board retreat! I knit really fast when they were grousing about the fact that this data I provided on Needs Assessment wasn’t as complete as they thought it would be (really? When I told them the plan would be complete at the end of NOVEMBER?????) and why did I choose to survey this group, rather than that group, or ask this question rather than that one? They went on for an HOUR! Finally someone said “She told us this would be incomplete data a month ago, and I think we should just let her finish and we can move on to the next item now.” I wanted to kiss his feet. He later made a point to thank me in front of the whole group for “all the work I put into resource development” clearly he reads his reports!

So while that piece was frustrating, on the whole, I feel like it was a good day, and I feel really satisfied with how this month went, on the whole.

And I got two hats done. In one day. 🙂

3 responses to “The worst is DONE

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Two hats in one day is awesome!!

  2. What a great feeling of achievement!

  3. Well done you.:)

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

