Sunday update   8 comments

Mom and I had a really nice visit this weekend. I got to make that new recipe I wanted to – which in the end tasted very much like the “sauce Normand” we enjoyed so much in France – it had cream, apple cider, onions and pan drippings – along with a tablespoon or so of Maple syrup. No Calvados in it but it tasted delicious anyway. I’ll be making it again, it was heavenly.

Saturday we headed up to Bangor and walked in the Bangor City Forest, and out on the bog boardwalk. A really beautiful morning, and I think Mom liked it, she had never been out there before. We had a good lunch at Schooners in Brewer, and did find the yarn store. Had some trouble locating it, but asked at the quilt shop(I ain’t no dummy – and I will be going back to the quilt shop – it looked really nice, the two seconds I was in there.) the yarn store was OK – not exciting. She had some good basic yarn, and one particular brand of fancier yarn – Ella Rae. Very nice, but it didn’t really inspire me. A small selection of Noro. Nothing that I spotted that is local, or otherwise special. So, I will keep her in mind for patterns and notions, but my guess is that I won’t be making special trips there. Which is not to say that I didn’t buy yarn, of course I did. She was having a sale! I bought some variegated grays and blues to make another lace scarf (someday) and checked out some sock yarn. She did have a small but nice selection of that, but most of it was the kind that only makes one sock, and it was a little pricey when you start doubling the price (since I like to make my socks in pairs. πŸ™‚ )

I did lots of knitting on the latest Pi shawl, I should finish that in a week or so, I would guess, since it is now my mobile knitting. It is very fluffy, I think it will be very cozy. and the best part? Ten skeins of yarn out of the stash and not a cent spent to make it. It is from the cousin Nancy stash, and I think about her as I work it. I wonder what she planned to make with this yarn? I know she made a lot of felted hats, and I wonder if that was what this was going to be? She wasn’t into fluffy sweaters, as near as I can tell from what her daughter sent me. But maybe she was planning something new and different?

Today, we had our electrician buddy here briefly to hook up a few new outlets in the basement. He took a lot of the slightly used fiberglass insulation off to a guy he knows who is building a house. Wow – we were going to toss it because they would not take it at ReStore! 16 contractor bags full! That is probably 6 trips to the dump we did not have to make today – woo hoo! We did make one trip there, and to the hardware store. I got more Rustoleum primer for the little outside tables, and when we got home, I did more spray painting – finished the last planter, and primed the three tables. One of them will be blue, same as a chair I did last week, and the other two remain to be seen – I have to get back to Lowe’s where they have a million colors of spray paint. I still want to find some true periwinkle colored paint – the blue is not as purply as I thought πŸ™‚ The little teal one I did last weekend came out well, and is making me think that I am going to love having these cute, bright tables under my plants next summer. On my screen porch.

The contractor came this week, one morning when we were not here because of having to vacate – but he got a good look at where we want to build, and I have to send him a sketch tomorrow of what we are thinking of, and then he will give us a quote, and I really hope we can afford this last bit of construction on the house – I have been waiting for it for a long time! I can just picture my pretty colorful porch, but right now it is an expanse of sand…..

Other than that, we have not been our usual workhorses, we are tired! Last weekend nearly did us in.

8 responses to “Sunday update

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why would you want 2 socks the same? πŸ˜‰

    • lol sometimes I guess it wouldn’;t matter, but it is a pet peeve of mine when the yarn companies make you buy two skeins to make a matching pair. You either wind up with two small bits left, or weaving in an end somewhere you wouldn’t have to if it was all one skein. Small annoyance, but it impacts what I buy!

  2. Wow! You have really been busy. I didn’t know you were going to build. Are you moving? I know your Mom enjoyed spending time with you. Always find time for her as long as you can.

    • No, we aren’t; moving anywhere! We moved here 5 years ago and are still “finishing things up” so the screen porch is the last major build that is attached to the house. there is, of course, a garage in my future, and it will likely have a small apartment on it for a family member. But that is not for a while.

      We do have fun with Mom, and she said she also had fun. πŸ™‚ We do try to spend time together, just haven’t done it much this summer, with all the visitors and trips everyone has been on, not to mention work!

  3. I lived up in Northern Maine around the Bangor area in the 80’s and early 90’s. Is the City Forest new? I never spent much time in Bangor. Weekends that I didn’t spend working I spent on the coast, up on Moosehead Lake or down in Auburn.

    • Did you really? Such a small world! I don’t think it is VERY new – maybe ten years or so? It is out on Stillwater Ave and is part of the old Bangor Dump site that has been rehabilitated and saved. You would never know the dump was right there if no one told you. The bog walk starts in Bangor, but the middle of the bog is in Orono, if that helps you locate it at all. If you ever come back for a visit, be sure to say so, I would love to meet you and that little rascal, and show you all that has changed since you were last here. One of our conversations Saturday was about how nice Bangor is, and how much work they have done to clean it up in recent years. Mom had tales of flop houses and bars along the river, where now there is a park.

      • I surely will let you know if I get back up. I know where you are talking about. I miss that area of Maine. All of Dad’s family are still in Auburn. I spent most of my childhood summers and winter vacations there. In my twenties I found Moosehead Lake and Greenville, logging roads and wilderness. I loved it and spent summers in the middle of nowhere, with the Penobscot River and wildlife for company. Chesuncook island was a lightly inhabited island at the time. I canoed alot on Moosehead and along the Penobscot above the dam. Below the dam was alot of white water. Eventually I rafted that. Moosehead had otters and loons. I loved and still do listening to the loons when they are peaceful. Their cry or laugh when something is wrong is bone chilling. Do the black bears still prowl the dumps? After awhile I got to recognize specific bears when I’d go to the dumps. It was a great life and I was so blessed to be able to experience it.

        • Wow – you have done a lot more in teh area than I have! I live down near Bucksport, so don’t often get north of Bangor. But yes, we still get bears at the dumps!

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

