Do you follow everyone who follows you?   21 comments

When I first was blogging, I followed everyone, if they liked me, if they followed me, if they posted one thing I sort of liked. But now I am getting a little more discriminating, and I am trying to follow people who are interesting, who do things I like to read and learn about.

I always check out my new followers to see if I like what they are posting, but there are a few… well, I don’t like their blogs. I probably would like THEM just fine, but my reader is so full every day, I don’t really want to sort through posts I don’t care about. Is this rude? how do you handle this problem?

I also am surprised at the number of people whose blogs I really liked who have fallen off the WordPress planet, apparently. I keep them on my list in case they post, but I miss them. If you are reading this and haven’t posted in a while, don’t feel guilty, I’m just musing and rambling…

So I am following over 150 blogs and I wonder what I will do if suddenly everyone posts at once…

And yet, I search for new ones every day… what a great community we are in!

Posted October 18, 2013 by salpal1 in what I am thinking about making

Tagged with , ,

21 responses to “Do you follow everyone who follows you?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a blog I am following and thought to myself just yesterday as I scrolled through a lot of posts from them that has no interest to me, why am I following? I’ve decided to stop. It was too time consuming. It’s not personal. That’s why you blog and follow to widen your circle so you could be surrounded by things you like and people you like. As I get older I realize time is precious and it’s mines. Delete me if you must. As my grandmother used to say, “Some people come into your life for a season….”

  2. I started out the same way, and ended up the same way too 🙂 I follow people whose blogs I like…but I also follow a couple of people just because I like THEM too. It’s funny how quickly we can develop friendships with people just through comments on posts!

    • Glad to hear I am not the only one! And yes, it is interesting – there are some I really worry about if they don’t post. And, I think “I can’t even call to check in on them to see how they are doing. It is a strange feeling.

      • Yes! Exactly 🙂

        • I can relate to this as well. And your post in general. I get a lot of follows from people whose blog is apparently only about “marketing and making money via blogging” – and perhaps surfing or something totally unrelated to what I talk about. I don’t count them as followers as such, they are just tagging everything they can come across to get traffic for themselves. I couldn’t care less… I don’t follow just to be polite, and the ones that interest me the most is about the communication. Sometimes I actually forget to click follow, because if somebody visits me often I click through anyway to see what they’re up to.

          • I’ve done that too! and then a week later realized that I wasn’t following them 🙂 I think the funniest follows I got were from weight loss people when I posted a picture of my “mint chocolate chip” Eloise sweater!

  3. I have blogs I constantly follow. I like the content, and over the years have had enough written back and forth that I have gotten to know the person who writes them and they become more to me than just a blog and a blogger. They have become people I care about. I follow other blogs that are just that, blogs. I have never taken the time to comment on what they write, so I don’t get personally involved. In these blogs I am more interested in the content and gaining knowledge. Then there are the blogs that just fascinate me. The bloggers don’t usually post often, maybe once or twice a month. They live or travel to places I know I will never get to see, cultures so different from my own. I enjoy seeing how knitting and textiles are made and viewed in these cultures, the style and design of the clothing and how it is influenced by the environment around them.

  4. I’ve only followed people if I like their posts since I started posting, but if I didn’t like someone’s posts I would unfollow. Like you there are people who don’t post much who I keep following because I like their stuff. The people who I correspond with regularly are the ones whose blogs I enjoy reading the most.

    • Thanks, Claire – I guess I have my answer – it is OK to not follow someone and it won’t hurt their feelings. 🙂 Don’t worry, I am still following you. 🙂

  5. I follow who I like. A lot of people that follow me don’t have blogs that interest me so I don’t follow them. And if I start following someone and then later find their blog dull or just not what I want to read I unfollow.

  6. I do the same and weed out those blogs that I like as I pass by but never bother to read anymore. I always try to find new blogs to read once I get back down to a concentrated mass.

    It’s funny you post this, it has been the topic of a post I’ve been meaning to write but always wondered how it’d be received by my followers.

    • P.S. – That’s me claiming to be a big chicken lol so I give you props 🙂

      I commented before I read the comments of others and I have to agree with all of them. I enjoy the relationships I have with a few bloggers, we’re always commenting on each others posts and learning more about each other day-to-day.

  7. As others have said I have started to follow the blogs that interact with me. If someone leaves a comment i try to go back to their blog and am more likely to follow them. I need to go through my list…

  8. I completely agree. If you read everything you’d have no time for crafting! When my reader gets too long I end up missing those I really like to read and interact with. So I unfollow if there are a few posts I’m not really finding interesting.

  9. I came here because you liked one of my posts and I saw the title of this post in the email and thought it would be interesting. If I have time and find any post titles interesting I visit blogs of people who like my posts but right from the start I was cautious about how many blogs I followed regularly. I saw that some people had hundreds of followers and thought that they couldn’t follow all the people who followed them surely?! I suppose I’ve always felt a bit guilty about not following people who follow me but I decided about 20 was enough to sign up for. I now am technically following twice this many but some of them don’t seem to be posting anymore or only rarely so it’s not too much.

    Haven’t unfollowed anyone yet though.

    Like other people have said. You should follow blogs that you enjoy reading and you don’t have to read every post even of those you do follow.

    • thanks for the thoughts! I have been editing my list down quite a bit, but I find it still takes a long time to go through my reader. Not sure how much more I can filter it out as I love to see what everyone is making. At least I no longer have the ones I really don’t like in there. 🙂

  10. I definitely know where you are coming from. It’ so hard to keep up with everyone, even though I would love to. There are just not enough hours in the day to do all I have to and then blog for hours on end. I have some that I visit regularly, I have some that I visit when I get emails that there is a new post. There are some I have had to unfollow because the content is not what I am interested in anymore (or at the moment) and still blogs I have yet to discover. We do what we can when we can. I definitely do not follow someone just because they are following me if their blog content is not something I enjoy hearing about.

    • I haven’t gone the email route – I just look in my reader. But there are some I like more than others, maybe I should get them on the email, so that I can reserve the reader for times when I can wander….

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

