Just a little quick confession   22 comments

I was reading over at Mollie and Claire about how Claire resisted buying yarn because of herself imposed rule to not buy yarn for 6 months. http://mollieandclaire.wordpress.com/2013/10/08/deramores-dilemma/

And I thought I would share with you a (slightly) sneaky thing I do to get yarn.

A and I don’t do a lot of unplanned purchases with our joint account. And all of our money goes in there. So it is tough to go on the occasional yarn binge, right? Oh sure, we plan trips to yarn stores, and we talk about how much I can spend, and I have a budget. That really takes all the fun out of a yarn binge, let me tell you. Well, almost all the fun.

But I have yarn stash cash that is beyond her control. 🙂

Here’s how I fund it.

Each week, we get a cash allotment from the joint account. It’s for the little things that come up each week.

Well, I use the debit card any time I can, thus not spending the allowance if I can avoid it. Lunch out? Debit card. Cup of coffee – allowance. A keeps the checkbook tidy, and hates when I do the $2 debit thing.

If we go out together, I let her pay. It’s all out of the joint account, right? Hee hee.

At the end of the week, when we get our next allowance, I take whatever cash is in my wallet and tuck it away. In a really good week, I have all the money left.

A is a good woman. She keeps her leftovers in her wallet, and uses them as she would the new allowance. You know, to buy me a cup of coffee. 🙂

When, after a few months, I mention that I am heading off to Halcyon with Mom to buy yarn, she is amazed that I have managed to secrete a whole lot of money. 🙂 One year I did it for nine months, and had a couple hundred dollars to spend at the Common Ground Fair on lovely handspun/dyed local yarn. I haven’t been that motivated since then, but I know I can do it. Right now I have about $50 in the cash stash, and I am already plotting my next trip for yummy fiber… is it Halcyon for silk? KnitWit for Quince and Co.? What will I make? I just don’t know, but I think I have a ten in my wallet, and only a couple of days to go in the week….

22 responses to “Just a little quick confession

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this post. Reading it has made up for the insomnia and unaccountably itchy neck. This is exactly the kind of thing I would do. However in our house I do the accounts and know what’s available to spend! D has never ever agreed to a budget for yarn. He doesn’t know how much it costs… 😄😄😄😄

    • Thanks! Your story inspired it. 🙂 It is a tactical error on my part to turn the book keeping over to her. But she is better at paying things on time. I procrastinate, even though we have the money. She has an anal accountant kind of background, and is very good about keeping me up to date on where we are, adn we set our goals and plans together. Trouble is, there is so much beautiful yarn…. and no plan to acquire it all. 🙂

  2. Good idea! I tend to use the money I get from selling my knitted items to buy more yarn. Its a vicious circle.

    • a good cycle! I haven;t figured out how to really sell anything yet, I just give it away.

      • That’s how I started! The first one is free haha. Mostly it’s word of mouth. People ask and if I can knit it i do.

        • hmmm no one has ever really asked me for anything except my nieces and nephew. I don’t hang with the right people! How do you figure your pricing?

          • I have set prices + cost of yarn. Ex: hats are $10 + yarn. Gloves and mittens are $13 + yarn. And so on.
            I am not making a ton but it’s enough to keep me in more yarn 🙂 and since I would be knitting anyway, I don’t see the point in charging a lot.
            On special orders I will check out the Etsy price and usually knock off a couple dollars of what they sell for.

          • That is a good way to do it – then the people buying can control the cost somewhat by the yarn they want, and you still get somethign for your efforts. I’ll have to figure a way to get people to want to pay me. I made a sweater for a coworker last year for free – she bought the yarn. It was an easy pattern, but still it took time and effort. She loves it but hasn’t asked for another. yet…. maybe she will when it gets cold. 🙂

          • Generous! Hope you get someone asking and you can get more dollars for your yarn cash stash!

          • me too!

  3. I so identify with this way of operating. Whatever I can scrap together goes for yarn.

  4. It sounds a bit familiar. 🙂 Hubby is much better with numbers than I am and takes care of all our finances. I use our debit card to make the weekly purchases (gas, groceries, etc) and yarn is certainly not on that list. lol

    BUT, when Hubby is in the mood for a cup of coffee shop coffee or other small items, he sends me off with a $20 bill and I happily keep the change tucked away for special purchases. These usually include a skein of yarn here and there, or I save it up to buy secret birthday and Christmas gifts for Hubby.

  5. So funny. Very sneaky. If you could just buy lovely yarn where you buy your groceries, no one would ever know.

    • lol – Yes! that would be fabulous. I have a friend who used to buy clothes and smuggle them in the house in grocery bags. Her husband never wanted to help with the groceries. 🙂 A helps with the groceries, but I often do the shopping on fridays while she is at work. This could really work. I will have to talk to teh grocer. 🙂

  6. I love your story of saving for yarn. Very clever 🙂

  7. I need to do this! Well, how did Halycon go?

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

