Quick hat post   10 comments

More Kool-Aid dying! I started this as a double wound cake (wind a cake of yarn, then wind it again, by pulling from the inside and outside. It should be the same size, but the strands doubled.)

I used an envelope of lemon kool-aid and a couple of drops of yellow food coloring, with three cups of water and three caps full of white vinegar. This was enough to go about half way up the cake of yarn.

Once the water ran clear, I filled the crock pot with the same amount of water, and this time, with about 2 packages of blue raspberry kool-aid, 6 drops of blue food coloring and three caps full of white vinegar. I flipped the cake over, putting the yellow side up.

Once the water ran clear this time, I cooled off the yarn and rinsed it. Then I unwound it to hang it to dry. Truthfully, this is the hardest part, I use a yarn swift to help, and do it on a floor that can get wet.

Then I hung it to dry.
When it was dry, I wound it into a regular cake, put it back in the crock pot, this time with enough water to cover it, lots of blue raspberry kool aid (maybe 4 packages) and 6 more drops of blue kool aid, as well as a cap full of white vinegar for each cup of water.

Let it soak up all the color, cool, rinse, unwind again to dry, and then knit.
blue yellow kool aid yarn

I have to admit, the hat is a little fruity in smell, I’ll give it a good wash before I give it away.

Now, the pattern.
Still working on adapting the hurricane pattern –

Kool Aid cyclone hat

This one, I cast on 73 stitches on a size 7 circular needle. At end of round one/beginning or round two, I knit two stitches together, leaving 72.

k2 p2 ribbing for 6 rows, purling last two stitches of the round together.(71 stitches)
then, knit ten, purl two around for about 4 inches.
Decrease rounds –
Round 1, knit ten, purl 2, knit two together around
Round 2 knit 9 purl two
Keep going in this manner, reducing the number of knit stitches between purls, while maintaining the purl pattern until there are 4 stitches between purls, then decrease every round, until all stitches are purls (should be 12) knit two together around, then cut yarn leaving long tail, and draw through remaining stitches, weave in ends.

The hat is a medium, I would say, it fits me, but would be more comfortable on a kid. To increase, you could either add a multiple of 6 stitches, and increase the number of knit stitches between purls, or add twelve and another pattern repeat.

Posted October 7, 2013 by salpal1 in how it came out

Tagged with , , , ,

10 responses to “Quick hat post

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like these colors. I have never tried to knit. I just love what other talented people make. Pat and I met a couple of friends from Florida at a storytelling festival in Tennessee this weekend. So many good tellers and so much fun.

  2. Amazing. If you didn’t tell me I would never have guessed it to be Kool-Aid and food dye. Totally eco friendly and very pretty results.

  3. Why are you washing out the smell? Are you not familiar with the stunning success of Strawberry Shortcake? LOL
    😀

    • lol OK, I didn’t; think of that. I didn’t want it to be too overwhelming. I’ll leave a little in. I am so used to unscented everything that I really notice it. 🙂

      • I just thought of it as a marketing angle…

        “Missing the glorious scents of warm weather and summer fun during the dark days of winter? Check out our fruity scented cap”

        😀

  4. Lively colors!

    • thanks! it is bright. The tropical punch Kool-Aid makes a nice soft peach, I still have some of that left from the last batch I did. Just love playing with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

