Small world!   14 comments

So. Friday I was at the doctor. She was injecting my back with Novocaine, and chatting with me to distract me from the hideous burning sensation.

We were chatting about our summers. She mentioned that she went to CT to visit family. I, of course, perked up at that, and said “Where in CT?” She replied “Milford” and I told her I went to high school there. Turns out she did, too. Turns out we went to the same high school. Turns out we were only a year apart, so were there together. I didn’t go there the whole 4 years, but we went to school together for a year and a half. Neither of us remember the other one at all. That is pretty strange since it is a small school – only about 400 girls then. But we both remember the same teachers, of course.

I have been going to this doctor for probably ten years now, and we never had a suspicion that we had this connection nearly 40 years ago.

Pretty funny, and when I unpack those boxes of books and come across my yearbook, I will take it in to her. That may be in other 40 years, of course…

PS she only took off two of the three spots, and is sending me to a dermatologist to check everything out. She thinks there are more to worry about. But the two she got are at the lab now, and I’ll have results in ten days or so. More stitches to fuss with and labs to worry about. I have a feeling this is my new normal.

14 responses to “Small world!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Like: small world stuff 🙂
    Dislike: stitches and labs 😦
    hope the tests come out well!

  2. It is crazy what a small world it is sometimes! What a funny coincidence. I really hope that this isn’t your new normal though 😦

  3. Wow to the small world stuff! Here’s mine. 20 years ago I worked with this guy. Lost touch maybe 15 years ago. Meet my husband 10 years ago living in a completely different part of the country. Turns out they were brothers in law (married to sisters) while I was working with the guy! Sorry to hear about the spots. D has had two skin cancer spots taken off his face and another lump that was benign so we’ve been through that too. Sending you a hug. X

  4. It is always good to remember our past and more importantly be remembered. As far as the present goes, all will be well.

  5. Better to have them out now than leave them. The same thing happened to my husband a few yrs back. It does end!

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

