Odds and Ends   9 comments

Getting my brain back on track this week! Yesterday was the first day back in the office in 2 weeks, and in some ways, it felt like I never left. Got a big pile of work to get through, surprise, surprise. Got the unofficial word that we got another grant I wrote, though. Pretty amazing if it is true, as it was a tough one, very competitive. So that was super news.

So. WIP update. Haven’t done any crocheting on the little baby blanket, as I have been focused on the PI shawl. This is why I try not to have more than one project on the hook/needles at once! I also have a mobile project, a scarf that I actually can’t wait to finish and show you, it is a fun story, but I will wait until the end to show you. 🙂

The Pi shawl – I made excellent progress last week in Phoenix. And I don’t have enough yarn. 😦 I thought I did, and that I had figured it rightly. I went with only 30 rows in the last section, and the garter stitch edge. I would have done better to keep knitting around and then done the crochet edge that EZ said was adequate. But, since I didn’t, I will have to ask my sister to go get me one more skein. 😦 If you want to do Pi with Quince and Co Finch, I suggest at least seven skeins. Using US size 8 needles, I started with 5, and will need 6 to complete it, and I know it would be a bit nicer if it was a bit wider. That being said – I highly recommend this yarn for this project – it is just yummy. Spun tightly and round, very stretchy (which may save this project in the blocking) all wool but far from scratchy. Nice body to it. I can’t wait to wrap it around me.

Besides knitting…

A, L and I did the AIDS walk in Bar Harbor Saturday – I was exhausted, so we did not hang around for the festivities, but it was a beautiful day for a stroll around Bar Harbor. Only the “newlywed and nearly dead” left for tourists, much more manageable! We finished the license plate game for the 3rd time this summer, when we spotted a Louisiana plate down by the harbor. We even have a spare Hawaii to start next year. That means that we have set a record – between Memorial Day and Columbus Day, we have seen cars from every state at least three times. Usually it is a struggle to get this done twice. A sign of a better economy?

Sunday was a lay-low day for me – I worked on putting the pool away and did laundry and knit. The pool is a SAD TALE. When I popped open the plug to let the air out of the rim, the plug pulled out in my hand. That finishes off the pool. So instead of clearing it up and putting it away, we will haul it to the dump next weekend when we have the truck again. Next spring we will get a new one, slightly different style, I think. I’d like one I don’t have to work so hard to set up and take down. But still small. I don’t need a big family sized one, just something to get in and cool down, relax. So I will be doing some research this winter.

Last night, I went to Bangor and met A. We had planned a trip to Hobby Lobby and then supper at the Olive Garden, but Hobby Lobby still isn’t open. It should open on the 27th, so we will go next month. I look forward to seeing what it is all about. Supper at Olive Garden was good as always, and the leftovers will be good tonight.

I think that is it, for what I have been doing since I got home.

Working on a fun Friday list for you, since last week’s was so boring. 🙂

9 responses to “Odds and Ends

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations on your grant!

  2. You will love Hobby Lobby! The closest one to me is about 40 minutes so I don’t go there often. But it is a great store with lots to see. Not just crafty, but home decorating, too. Don’t forget to sign up on-line to get their coupons.

    • I just went online and did that – thanks for the tip! I hear people talking about it all the time, and now I will get to see for myself. If nothing else, maybe it will make the other two big boxes step things up a bit. 🙂

  3. First of all, congratulations on the grant. That is a biggy. You have been a busy bee since you got home. I am not a knitter or crocheter so, what is a Pi shawl. I know what a shawl is but, does Pi refer to the number 3.14 or the Greek symbol? Have you not had Hobby Lobby’s there? Don’t plan anything else that day. You’re gonna love it.

    • Thanks! I am excited that it is likely to come to pass. 🙂 Never know until you get the official word, but it is looking good. As for busy – we almost always are! I don’t count knitting and crocheting as busy though, that is relaxing tome – like you and the wood shop. 🙂 Pi refers to 3.14 – the shawl is a big circle, that doubles in circumference as it doubles in diameter – it means you start with 9 stitches, and work your way out until you have almost 600. It is sort of amazing how it works, but at the end, the rows are very long! I think I am going to love Hobby Lobby, so that is a good tip about a whole day. 🙂 I’ll see what I can do.

  4. Summer is over here too 😦

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

