Phoenix AZ day 3   4 comments

Still hot. Still humid.

Today the workshops were pretty much topical to my work, so that was good. Lunch was even decent, chicken, but well prepared.

Once I got through the conference stuff, I ventured out, and walked about 6 blocks (on the shady side of the street where it was only about 95) to the public market, aka farmers market. It was small, but very nice. If I was staying longer, I would have bought some veggies and baked goods. As it was, I bought an Italian ice, and walked back. But I was impressed with the set up – they had a pavilion, with a cooling system (mist coming down from the ceiling, like the produce section of the grocery store) and they even had a market café.

So that was my big venture out into Phoenix, I have to say, that downtown is not a great place for a conference. I hear there are some nice areas around here, and I wish we had been dropped in one that at least had a neighborhood to explore.

Instead, I have been knitting and reading. Just finished My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, the first Hispanic Supreme Court justice. It was like reading a letter from my best friend. She is an amazing woman, who has worked brutally hard to get to where she is today, and when I read this, I am so glad that she is where she is. Not an easy life, but an easy read. I hope she writes more.

The Pi shawl races along, since I knit on it all day long. I am on my last increase round, and a little nervous about how the yarn will hold out – I just started my third ball (out of 5) so I am hopeful I will get to a decent size before I run out. If not, then I will have to decide if it is worth a trip to Portland for one more skein… or bug my sister to run and get me one and mail it to me. Sadly, I think the store will be closed when I land there Friday night.

That’s it, tomorrow promises to e even less exciting. 🙂

But wait, I forgot the most exciting thing – they had a raffle, and I won it!!!!! a $50 gift certificate here in the hotel, so it will cover the rest of my dinners/breakfasts. Nice! It was one of those deals where you had to sit through the boring luncheon presentation and be present to win. I actually got up to leave the lunch, then remembered the raffle so sat back down. Imagine my surprise when they read my number off.

This on top of winning another giveaway here on word press – Rainbow junkie gave away a rainbow of yarn and a hand crocheted coaster, and I won that. I have never been so lucky in my life! Aside: I did NOT win the 300 million Powerball last night, but I do intend to buy a ticket.

4 responses to “Phoenix AZ day 3

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What kind of conference are you attending in Phoenix? Sorry you are having such a crummy week. You will certainly be glad to be home again. “There’s no place like home”.

    • It is a conference for Community Action Associations, It isn’t so much a crummy week as a boring one! If I ever come here again, I will get a car, for sure – at least for one evening.

  2. I still keep thinking about winning the Powerball. We have to be in it to win it lol! Stay cool in AZ.
    I just wanted to share with you that I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award here: http://craftmanicmommy.wordpress.com/2013/09/12/awards-what-no-way
    Thanks!

    • hey, thanks very much! I’ll probably check that out later in the weekend when I am home and rested. But I can tell you now that I really appreciate it.

      I do get tickets to the Powerball, I don’t go overboard, but I make sure we have a ticket for each drawing. cheaper than booze or cigarettes, and it COULD pay off. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

