Phoenix Arizona Day 1   2 comments

I guess the title is really a misnomer, it should maybe read “Airplanes Day 1” because that is where I spent most of the day.

Got up at 2 am, was out of the house by 2:30. I hated getting up, but traveling that time of day sure is nice – I cut half an hour off the drive time to Portland, simply because I could go the speed limit the whole way. I was parked and in the terminal by 4:45, bag checked, nothing to do but grab a bite and sit and wait.

Flew US Air (or some partner thereof) to Philly. Plane was full, but it was comfortable, relatively short flight. Of course where we landed and where I had to go were pretty far apart – I felt like I walked half way to Phoenix just getting to the gate. But I made it in plenty of time to sit and knit a bit. My only complaint? I paid $25 to check a bag, but as the plane was full, they were checking bags for free at the gate, because they wouldn’t all fit in the overhead compartments. I think I will give that a shot on the way home, and ask for a refund for today, while I am at it. What is up with that??? Pretty lousy policy, if you ask me. The whole charging to check bags drives me nuts anyway. I can see charging for HEAVY bags, or MANY bags, but it seems that one should be free.

The plane from Philadelphia to Phoenix was also full – not so nice, it was bigger and it seemed like the seats were smaller, so the poor middle seat guy wasn’t very comfortable. I tried to snooze, but it is hard to sit still for 4.5 hours, yet getting up was not a choice for me, too many crowded people. This is why I dislike traveling alone. I would have bugged A and stood up if she had been with me. 

Most of the way across the country, we had beautiful weather, but the pilot warned us light rain in Phoenix. It was a pretty rough descent, but a very smooth landing. One of those ones where you are in the clouds until the last minute, and you hope like heck that the instruments really are working, and that the runway is dead ahead. They were and it was.

So, got my bag back, and found a taxi. Was pleased that the driver was listening to a local NPR affiliate, so I got some world news. And the local weather – heavy rain and flash flood warnings! Now, for crying out loud, this is the desert!!!! Must my rainy weather follow me everywhere?

I was able to check into my room, which is pleasant enough, nothing special, no fridge, but otherwise has everything I need, and got settled, then went downstairs to get some lunch, which was very nice indeed at the hotel restaurant – I had a simple salad with chicken, but the veggies were all locally sourced, and it showed. Yum. Called A, who was just getting home from work, and realized I had not reset my watch. So, my body thinks it is nearly 7, but here it is nearly 4. This is going to really stink around 2 am local time….

I asked at the desk about what I could see on a rainy day within walking distance. Apparently – nothing. No shopping, parks aren’t an option as I didn’t bring a rain coat. I can hardly believe it. I wonder who usually stays at all these hotels? There are a lot of them right around me. Is there that much call for business travelers here? Interesting. Maybe they all rent cars. I am too cheap to do that when I will be in workshops until 5 every day.

Another sad thing is that the Phoenix Mercury (professional women’s basketball team) are not playing at home this week. Here I am all the way in Arizona, and they are playing a couple of road games. Sigh.

But I did check out the license plates on the way over from the airport, and see that Arizona has some really pretty, different ones. Not the one we always see at home. Now, to spot a Wyoming or Idaho plate. I might have to go cruising somehow.

And I do have a list of yarn shops for potential exploration …

But first, I think a nap is in order.

2 responses to “Phoenix Arizona Day 1

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great blog today. I felt as though I was reading a novel. I am so sorry that the rain followed you to Phoenix. I am sure it will clear soon and you can enjoy their usual hot weather.

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

