Friday to-do list   2 comments

This Friday is the day I drive a million miles to get my niece C (C the younger, age 17) from her home in CT, and bring her to Maine for a FUN ten-day vacation with her Maine family.

While I always dread the actual drive, I love the fact that I get to visit with her the whole car ride back again, and then spend time with her here. I am trying to think of fun things to do along the way – haven’t come up with too much that doesn’t add lots of time to the trip (something neither of us want to do, given that we will already be dealing with Friday tourist traffic) but there are a few things.

Number one was convincing her mother and/or sister to drive part way toward Maine to meet me. The girls and I have found a really nice farm/ice cream stand in Thompson CT, I think it is called Fort Hill Farm. It’s only about an hour from their house, it has delicious home-made ice cream, clean bathrooms, is easy off and on the highway, and is the kind of place where we could hang around and wait for the other party to show up if we were running late. So, we will meet there around ten in the morning, which puts me on the road no later than 5 am. And maybe that is too early for ice cream, but maybe not, too. 🙂 Then, once the transfer is complete, and we say good-bye to Mom and Sis, we will head north. I figure the next stop will be for lunch, haven’t thought of any place extra special for that, but we will have all of Massachusetts to choose from. (Oh, how I hate route 495! I hope there is something good to eat that we have not discovered yet.) I may set her to work with her phone to find us something new to try.

Nw Hampshire usually is just a pit stop at the rest area or the big liquor store/gift shop, then we get to Maine. Still 4 hours of driving to do once we cross the state line, but more options for fun near the highway.

In Portland, we can stop and see if my sister is home (maybe call first… 🙂 ) for a quick hello and bathroom break. Then, in Yarmouth, there is Eartha – this HUGE globe that is a couple of stories high, very neat. Not sure, but I don’t think I have ever taken the girls there, and it is truly right off the highway. And near a rest stop. Two good things for breaking up a road trip but not lengthening it.

If we aren’t; exhausted, there is Freeport and LL Bean, but that will be MOBBED on a Friday in August, so we might skip that.

Then I think we will just keep driving to get home, maybe stop for supper, depending on the time. Even with all these stops, if the traffic isn’t awful, we might make it home before dark!

800 miles, one day, but worth every minute.

2 responses to “Friday to-do list

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I cannot begin to imagine doing those sorts of miles. There are far too many traffic jams for a start.

  2. We made it! I agree about the traffic, as always, mid-Massachusetts to Portland Maine was AWFUL heading north, but because I didn’t have to go all the way to her house, we were earlier than normal – it only took 12 hours! Wow. We stopped only for bathrooms and lunch, because of the traffic, but we had fun. She had been to a Beach Boys concert recently, so we played the cds and sang along and the miles went by.

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

