Confession   6 comments

I broke my own rule. I started knitting my Kool-Aid yarn. I just could not resist the combination of using the yarn I dyed to see how it came out, along with my new book on toe-up socks. I have the toe done on one sock, and am working on the foot. No photos yet, but I will take some before I go too much farther.

I did have to adjust the pattern a bit as 1.) I wasn’t quite getting gauge, and 2.) I have a wide foot. Those two things worked out well together, though, I cast on for the wider sock, soon realized if I went up to the number of stitches she suggested it would fit an elephant, so I stopped at the second size , and got a nice wide toe box, yea! And I only repeat the pattern three times across, instead of 4 or 5.

So far I think I like the yarn and the pattern, we will see what the finished product looks like.

I do keep the purple scarf as my portable project, so I knit on it some each day at lunch time, and I will in the car when traveling this weekend.

Posted July 24, 2013 by salpal1 in what I am making

Tagged with ,

6 responses to “Confession

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Which book are you using? I can’t wait to see your socks, I started the second of the pair I am making. It’s funny, but after accumulating 3 books on toe up socks, I don’t use any of them. I follow a YouTube video I found and do plain stockinette. I’m so boring. 😉
    Maybe I’ll work my way up to fancy socks someday.

    Kathryn Rubidoux
    • I am using “terrific toe up socks, knit to fit” by Janet rehfeldt. I confess I chose it because it was the least expensive book, but I like it because she tells you the “real” way to cast on, then her way which is easier, and I like easy! She also goes through the various ways you can do each step, then gives you the patterns. So while at first there is a bit of flipping around the book, you do get to customize the pattern to your foot and knitting style.

  2. I want pictures 😦

Leave a Reply

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

Here and There, Now and Then

Wanderings, musings, and knittings with a dollop of food and wine

