CAL week 6   19 comments

Here we are at week 6 – and if my yarn bag is anything to go by, I will be half way done next week. I confess, I did buy more navy blue, as I really like it. So I can make more stripes that color – it will be interesting to see if the second half is noticeably darker than the first.

Also, this week as we are repeating patterns I did not take photos of every row, but rather waited until I finished a pattern until I took that section’s photo.

This is the first week that I have seriously doubted my sanity in taking on a wool blanket in the summer, but if Hannah can do all the work to make it happen, while working in a food truck in the south, I guess I can sit in a house in Maine and keep up. But as soon as I hit “Publish”, I am going swimming.

row 38

row 39 through 41

row 42

row 43

row 44

row 45 through 46

Here is the whole thing so far – it is going to be plenty long enough. Doesn’t it look great on my couch? And you can see how well it goes with that painting my beautiful, talented sister painted. šŸ™‚

whole thing week 6

Posted July 6, 2013 by salpal1 in how it came out, what I am making

Tagged with , , ,

19 responses to “CAL week 6

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I LOVE the way your colors are working out with the patterns. It’s going to be awesome when you finish it.

  2. I am doing this CAL too along with you and so many others, love your idea of using a theme colour, mine is using lots of colour as I using yarn donated by my Mum from her bite and pieces box..

    • I wonder how many others are doing it? It would be fun to know how big the group is.

      Next time, i think I might do the same as you – use up bits – the pattern sure comes out pretty that way.

  3. This is really beautiful. I love the colors, my favorites are in it. Is this something you are making for yourself or for someone else?

    • I am making it for me – I have been wanting to do one for a long time. This CAL makes it fun, not tedious to make a blanket! I might make one for A when this is done – hers will be all the colors of the cats and washable, as they sit on her lap all winter. šŸ™‚

  4. Those colours are wonderful together. What a talented family you are.

  5. Loving your CAL blanket. I am itching to get mine done but decorating and meetings in London have got the better of me!

    • meetings in London sounds very exotic – if I had those, I might not be crocheting much, either!

      • Well it isn’t that exotic! It was HOT yesterday. I’m on the board of a national campaigning organisation who meets every two months (yesterday’s meeting) and I’ve just been elected to another organistation who meet every two to three months, plus I occasionally have meetings in Westminster for work. It’s a two hour train journey both ways.

        • I didn’t know it ever got HOT in great Britain! Glad we aren’t the only ones. šŸ™‚ Are the trains air conditioned? It must make your week go faster, though to have these different things to go to. And can you knit on the train? I used to commute to work on the train, when I lived in CT, I got lots of reading and knitting done then.

          • Well it doesn’t get hot that often (4 weeks in the summer if we’re lucky) and of course my definition of hot (28C) and yours may not be the same! The trains were cool. I did a little knitting but I was feeling hot and the yarn made me feel hot so I mostly just snoozed!!

          • napping is good!

  6. Wow I love the color combinations! And you’re right it really goes with the picture above – it sure picks out the water in the painting.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

