CAL week 5   2 comments

I wasn’t up quite so early, but still am done with the week’s crocheting before 11 am. 🙂

This week’s rows weren’t particularly difficult, yet I seemed to have trouble coming out to the right number of stitches at the end. In spite of counting all the time, it was a problem. Oh well, I got it right in the end. It’s getting really hard to get a photo of the whole thing, not sure if I will be able to do that again. And this week, for the first time, the teal and turquoise came out next to each other, so maybe you will be able to tell the difference.

I finally made an excel spreadsheet to help track the colors I am using, so I don’t run out of them before the end, and wind up with just teal for the last several rows. It’s keeping me honest, I have to say! I don’t do them in the same order, just make sure I do the same number of them before I repeat. I think if I do this again, I will use more colors. Some of mine just don’t look great next to each other, and so I avoid certain combinations, which leaves me with the same ones. But I do like how the thing is working as a whole. (Almost) can’t wait for winter to use it. Judging by my yarn usage, I would say I am one week shy of half way done with this throw. Love that bulky yarn!

row 30

Oops – forgot to take a photo of row 31.

row 32
Not sure I like how the loops for the decreases worked here, but I redid it several times, and this was the best of the ones I could do. I suspect when the blanket is whole, it will look just fine, not stand out like I feel it does here.

row 33

row 34

row 35

row 36

row 37, all week 5 rows

Here’s the whole thing, as best as I can photograph it. Kind of crooked, but I got all the rows in.

week 5 total

Posted June 29, 2013 by salpal1 in what I am making

Tagged with , , , ,

2 responses to “CAL week 5

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think your CAL is coming along great and I love your color combinations.

    • thanks, I do too! Of course, as is the way of it, I am already planning my next one! Haven’t made a blanket bigger than baby sized since 1984 (long storyhow I remember that!) but I am finding it pretty easy going, thanks to Hannah!

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

