Started the CAL yesterday   4 comments

I can’t believe I am so excited about starting to crochet an afghan out of bulky wool in June, but I am. I have long contemplated the fact that it is COLD in the winter, and that I would really like a nice thick blanket to snuggle under on the couch while reading, knitting, watching TV. But the thought of actually making such a big thing seemed daunting,and frankly, boring.

Then Hannah over at Not Your Average Crochet started showing a beautiful one and talking about starting this CAL a few months ago, I was intrigued. I went to my stash, and found that I had 9 skeins of Lamb’s Pride Bulky in Teal. I remember picking it up on sale many years ago (as evidenced by the paper wrapper – long discontinued!) so I gave it a bit more thought and decided if I could find colors that went well with the teal, I would do it. Well, Lamb’s Pride has about a million colors, so I started collecting them, a few skeins at a time, not worrying about always having the same dye lot, since this is going to be stripes.
It started to come together in my head, and in a tote just for this project. About a month ago I got serious and ordered about ten skeins of yarn to round out the collection. It came in last week, and I was ready to go.

Saturday morning, it started, and I logged on early to see what we would do first. I was amazed not to be the first one to get started. I guess there are others out in the blogging world who are excited to get working on a blanket at the start of summer. ๐Ÿ™‚

I got started crocheting my long foundation chain right away, and finished the first few rows before we had to head out for the day (more on that in a different post). I am using a large hook because of the bulky yarn – N-15, and 96 stitches. It works up really fast – so no time to be bored!

This morning I got up and going early and finished my rows for this week. More amazingly, in MHO, I wove in the ends! Hannah was very clear that we should keep up on that, and she might have something there. I carried them along as I went, when I could, and so just had a few to do at the end of the rows for this week. If I can keep this up, it will be nice to get to the end and not have a million ends to weave in. Here’s the progress – aren’t you proud of me for taking photos? ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry about the white, it is hard to get the exposure right, with the darker colors around it. The teal bracketing the white is the color that started it all. Can’t wait to see how my other colors play into this. It seems such a long way to Saturday.

Foundation and row 1 - here we go!

second row - new color!

3rd row, bringing in the teal

fourth row - how bright the white seems!

fifth row complete!

whole length end of week 1

Posted June 2, 2013 by salpal1 in what I am making

Tagged with , , , , ,

4 responses to “Started the CAL yesterday

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is gorgeous! I’m almost tempted to start another in a bulky yarn…

    • Thank you! It is only 96 stitches on a huge hook (N). I have to say, I saw yours and thought I need to start one in fun pretty colors. Mine will be mostly blues, turquoise and periwinkle, and will look pretty in the living room, but yours looks much more cheerful… This could be dangerous.

      • I have actually been and checked my stash to see if I have anything I could use. I do, as long as I’m happy to make it in brown, navy & sludge colour. Yuck, no thanks! I think I’m going to restrain myself as there will be other CALs! Plus I really want to finish the crochet blanket I’m making for my Mum. It’s boring stripes on a 3.5mm needles (really thin) and its massive but if I don’t keep going it won’t be finished for her birthday!

  2. Beautiful colour combination

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

