Saturday knits, chores, and an impromptu birthday party   Leave a comment

Busy day! A and I slept late, both exhausted from a long work week, and then we thought we had loads of time to get a few chores done before we headed to Bangor to meet up with her sisters and nieces for a birthday lunch for niece T. We leisurely got ready, headed out to things like the PO and grocery store. Got home and the phone was ringing. Total change of plans – niece J (flying in from PA) was getting a later flight, so lunch would happen earlier, and without her. We scrambled to wrap presents and get out the door again. Made it to Governor’s in Orono in time – whew!

After lunch we tried the natural food store for the special cat food we think will stop Zumba’s itching. They had the wet food, but not the dry. I’ll try the store in Ellsworth where I always used to get it for Tuppence (anyone – is it normal for calicoes and tortoise cats to have food allergies? Zumba has the same coloring as Tuppence had, and seems to have the same food allergies.)

Through all of this driving, I was knitting around and around on this cable ribbed hat I made up. It did not come out like I planned (do they ever?) but I think it came out cute, and it fits better than I thought it would. Even as I was finishing it up, I was thinking about ripping it out and making a plain hat. But I like it, and if it fits me, it will fit someone else, so in the bag it goes!

red cable ribbed

Once home, it was BASKETBALL! Women’s tournaments started today, we have our brackets done,a nd our friendly little wager in place. We actually have two – one for the whole bracket best score, for cash for the stash. The other is just the final 4, once we get that far (gives us a chance to revise in case our original 4 aren’t actually there!) for a weekend breakfast. This is very exciting time of year for us – A gets to watch lots of good women’s basketball, I get to root for UConn and knit.

I am about half way through one leg warmer – they ARE coming out as I imagined, and I hope niece C likes them! The k2 p2 ribbing for 28 inches is tedious, but at least I have the color changes to look forward to. I don’t think I would do much with them if they were all one color.
wip leg warmers

They should be done long before we crown a national championship winning team.

Go UConn!

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

