the weekend has gotten away   Leave a comment

I feel like weekends are so short when I have to work on Fridays. You know, like the rest of the world.

This weekend was no exception. Friday I was in SW Harbor again doing taxes, we had a full slate, and everyone showed up. By the end of the day, I was tired, but it felt good to help everyone. Friday night we went over to House of Pizza for supper – it is always surprisingly good (don’t judge a restaurant by its uninspiring architecture!) It was a good low-key choice for the end of the week.

Saturday sister-in-law L joined us in a trip to Mom and B’s to take them out to lunch to celebrate Mom’s birthday. We visited with Mom while she opened her presents, and then went out to lunch. She chose Cafe Miranda in Rockland – the food was really good, I had a to die for lamb patty. Very simply done with yogurt and cukes on focaccia. Delicious! After lunch we did a quick tour of the garden – daffies and crocus are poking their heads out of the ground, snow drops are blooming, it is looking like early spring in her yard!

On the way home, we stopped at Over the Rainbow, L had not been there yet (good excuse!!!!!!) and everything was on sale, 20% off! I picked up some more Lamb’s Pride for various projects I might make… or because I could not resist the colors???

Today I FINALLY finished the blue sweater for my coworker. If it fit me, I would model it for you, but it doesn’t. If she lets me, I will get a photo of her in it for you all. Suffice to say, I am glad it is done. I almost immediately started the next project – leg warmers for oldest niece, C. Not sure how they will turn out as I am totally guessing on everything except the length (she wants 28 inches) and the color( she wants a fade from dark blue to light blue) but I will take photos of them for you as I go. I am using Cascade 220 superwash sport weight, in three shades of blue (I got 2 skeins of each, I think it will be more than enough.) So far, so good, I wound all the balls, and cast on the stitches. Simple pattern, tubes of 2×2 ribbing until 28 inches or I run out of yarn. 🙂 I’ll get bored before they get done, but so far I have been really good at sticking to my rule to reduce UFOs. No starting the next project until this one is done. I have modified it somewhat to allow hats to go on simultaneously with bigger projects, simply because of the mobility of the hats. I am never without my knitting!

One thing I should have started on but did not is Easter cards. I don’t have much time, but I also don’t feel inspired. Guess I had better get over that. And I also was supposed to get ready to paint upstairs, but as A didn’t work on the bookshelves, I have more time than I thought to paint the loft. Instead, today she worked on the insulation in the closet, and balanced the checkbook. Two major chores!

She did tell Mom that by the end of her vacation, the bookshelves will be built, installed and filled with all of our books. That is a bit frightening, as that vacation is in a few weeks… Glad I am working most of that week! But it does mean I have to get the room painted and the bookshelves painted before then. Legwarmers might not get done as fast as I would like.

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

