Storm photos   Leave a comment

Sorry these aren’t very good, but it was cold. And snowy. And screens aren’t clear glass. 🙂 But I think you will get the idea.

door from outside

door from inside

Dining room doors from inside and out! That is a lot of snow.
out back

Late in the afternoon, we realized the house was getting chilly, even with the pellet stove going. We checked, and found that the hot water heater was off. We hit the re-set button, but it wouldn’t stay lit. Thinking that this was a lousy day to have to call a repairman, we did a little investigative work. That involved me going outside in the storm to clear out the vent pipe. Since we could only get out the cellar door at that point, I had to hike around the house and up the grade to the back yard. I do that hundreds of time in the summer… but it is a whole lot harder in snow that is up to your hips. I cleared the vent, and the heater started easily. Thank goodness for safety features! But it also showed just how powerful this storm was, because normally, the heat from the vent itself keeps the snow clear around it. So, while I was out, I hiked over to clear out the dryer vent, too. And shoveled the snow from in front of the back door so we could get out that way next time. And of course, I took a whole lot of photos which are dark and boring – nothing to show the scale of the storm. But it was cold, windy and snowy, trust me.

bench 1

Nan’s bench is our snow gauge – it is a regular height bench with a back that probably ends a little over three feet from the ground. I’ll try to remember to measure it in the spring when I can find it again. This was at 7 am.

bench 2
Noon time

bench 3
Sunday morning. The last corner of it is behind the bird suet. All that is left above the snow line is one rail of the back – and that is not counting the big snow bank. That is about 6 feet tall I figure – it is pretty clearly over my 5’4 head. But note that the deck rails are almost clear of snow – it was one windy snow event!

Posted February 10, 2013 by salpal1 in how I spent my day, how it came out

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

kmkat & her kneedles

It's about knitting the way Car Talk was about cars.

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

