How I did with the list   Leave a comment

I am pretty amazed at how I did with the list yesterday –

I didn’t clean the bathroom, go to teh dump or do the grocery shopping, but I think I did everything else, pretty much (notice I left off the boring chores for Saturday?) Spent time in the craft room, made the get well card and put together another valentine, and took photos of things in process. Went to see brother C and did his taxes. Went to the hardware store, and got ONLY WHAT WAS ON THE LIST! truly amazing. I got to Bangor a few minutes early for dinner, and so stopped at Joann with my 50% off coupon. 🙂 Got another set of Spectrum noir pens – the pinks, which will come in handy when I finish up the valentines.

Met A at sister-in-law L’s, and we went to the Kobe steakhouse – never been to anything like that. It was fun, the food was good, but it was very noisy, and we felt like they rushed us right out – never even asked us if we wanted dessert! There was a long line when we left, so that was probably the reason. And really, it worked well for us, as we got to the movie in time. That was strange – the movie theater was almost dark, but open. When we got our tickets, the girl told us the power had been giving them trouble, and wasn’t fully restored, so we should hang on to our tickets in case we need a refund, and it will be cold in the theater.

Well, the power stayed on and it was FREEZING in the theater. The movie got mixed reviews from us – I absolutely loved it, thought the cast was fantastic, loved seeing Lincoln portrayed as I always imagined him to be. L liked it, thought it was a little long, but loves Tommy Lee Jones, so she enjoyed it. A hated almost every minute of it – too much talking, no action, dreary and never-ending. I did think it could have ended a few minutes before it did – don’t want to be a spoiler, but I think we all know Lincoln dies, right? I thought they could have ended it when he left for the theater. But I am not Spielberg, and he has a little more experience in this than I do, so I bow to him, and I stayed until the end. And, Just like when I read Team of Rivals (which I was thrilled to see got a lot of credit in this film) I dreaded the end because I knew this wonderful, insightful man was going to be murdered. I keep hoping for a different ending, but haven’t gotten one yet.

But think about it – if he had lived? What would our lives be like now? He would have handled reconstruction so differently than it was handled. Would he have gotten a third term? Would we not have had to wait 100 years for the Civil Rights Act? Would we not have needed it? It boggles the mind. No need for MLK Jr to lead a march or a walk or a protest? Would we know who he was? And would we know who Rosa Parks was? Malcolm X? Brown vs the Board of Education – would it have been heard? John Wilkes Booth did so much more than assassinate a president. He totally changed the course of history in this country.

yada yada yada….

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

