friday typing with the cat   Leave a comment

Cute Allie is being very helpful today. She is perched beside the keyboard watching my fingers and the screen. It’s a lot to keep track of and requires the occasional pounce, or walk across the keyboard to get closer to the screen. She isn’t usually this engrossed when I am on the laptop. She loves the desktop because she can get right up close to the screen and I can still type (ie no Mommy saying”get off of there, get out of my way”) but today she is right next to me on the couch, so it is interesting for both of us.

Today is a fun day – we are having a potluck at work to say goodbye to a coworker who is leaving, so I am cooking a pot roast in the crock pot to bring along, and will head to Ellsworth around 11. While there, I guess I will mosey along to the fabric store to get the batting and backing I need to finish my quilt project. But if they don’t have what I want, how sad, I will head up to Bangor to the store where I started this project. And while there, I will make a Target run, as we need new laundry lingerie bags, and that seems to be the only place around that I can rely on them being in stock (don’t say “Wal*Mart” to this woman, I do NOT shop there, unless under duress.)

Aside: Allie just left. She is now boxing with Zumba, who before that was curled up asleep in a box under the Christmas tree. Zumba is surely wondering what she did that made her deserve to be pounced upon by her sister.

Anyway… Once in Target, I might find a few other things to buy. Just maybe. And as long as I am in Bangor, I might as well head over to AC Moore and use my gift card. he he he.

I am sort of annoyed at JoAnn’s – I also got a gift card for their store, and I went online, found a real deal on copic markers, ordered a whole bunch, used the gift card and credit card to pay. They confirmed the order, then cancelled it with the terse note that they would refund my credit card. I emailed back to ask if they would also restore my gift card balance so I could use it in the store. No response. Helllloooo – JoAnn customer service if you are reading this, please go read my email and respond.

So I am not sure if I will stop there – maybe I will and start by having them check the balance on it.

Either way, I see a day of consumerism on my horizon. And how nice that I can do most of it without spending “real” money. And leaving my little yarn stash intact!

Another aside: have I told you how I get my yarn money? Very crafty of me, I am sure. Each week we give ourselves an allowance of $20 for incidentals. My deal is when I get the new $20, I take all the remaining money out of my wallet and stash it. Also, we save all of our change in a bank, and now and then we roll it up and split it between us – that also goes in the yarn stash. And any stray money that comes my way, like my Biggest Loser winnings, or little lottery winnings (also split) or small gifts or findings goes right in there. It is amazing to me how fast it adds up to enough cash to buy real yarn! This Christmas, Mom gave it a big boost with a gift certificate to Halcyon in Bath, which I will have so much fun spending! But not today, as Bath is a whole day trip. I’ll wait until Mom and sister C can go, too. So anyway, if I need to make a big purchase, I use my yarn stash. But for small things like half a yard of muslin, the regular old household account can handle. I try to keep my yarn stash for special occasions like Maine Fiber Frolic, the Common ground Fair, and trips to the “real” yarn stores in Belfast, Rockland and Bath. I haven’t been over to Shirley’s in Hancock in a while, either. That’s another good LYS. Which is why I have almost $100 in the yarn stash right now.

The other project I am working on is our mortgage refinancing application. It is so annoyingly tedious. Not hard, just tedious. I want to get it done, so we can reduce our rate and get rid of our PMI faster, but of course, we are nervous about the appraisal value and wondering if it has dropped a lot since we last did this. Only one way to find out – apply, get it appraised, and pay the hundreds of dollars to see how we are faring. Is it any wonder I keep putting this off?

time to go log on and plug away at it. Let me just run and do that. After I move the laundry. And do the breakfast dishes. And get another cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

Dramatic Lyric

A Soprano's view of life, music, and handcrafts

