Slow and easy Sunday   Leave a comment

After the long few weeks, it feels good today to stay in bed late, cruise the blogs, work on my extensive christmas wish list.  A even worked on one for Mom – very hard for her to d, but she did a great job with it.

Yesterday we were exhausted, after the very long day Friday (I’ll work my way back to it) but we got going and went into Bangor to pick up the car, have lunch and do a little shopping with sister-in-law L.  We went to Aunt Nellie’s attic, a thrift shop in Holden, which was having 1/2 off sale.  got some nice cashmere yarn, and a misc bag of yarn, total price 43!  And a lampshade for 2 dollars. If I had measured other lamp shades, I would have gotten more, as we need a few.  But even full price, they are deals, there, so I will get more someday.  We also went to the Down East Sticks and Stones shop so I could get some beads for Christmas presents.  Stayed focused, so did not spend a lot, ut there is a lot there to look at and get inspired by!  Lunch was at Green Tea, our favorite asian restaurant.  They have chinese, Japanese and Thai food, never had anything bad there.  Yesterday was no exception, it was all delicious.  Then over to the mall area to Bed Bath and Beyond for some wandering. Very expensive wandering as they have lots of things we like and “need” and we threw lots of them in the cart.  I got a closet light, which I have been wanting for a long time.  It might not be the final one, but it will serve until I figure out how I want to light that closet.  Also got an LED headlamp – I can now read in bed!  And use it for walks in the morning, so I can keep my hands in my pockets and warmer!

C can be happy that I rejected MANY noisy/bright/plastic suggestions for E’s Christmas present.  Not sure what we will get her, but it won’t be pop-up bunny slippers.  🙂

It was a good antidote day to help get past the misery of Friday.

Thursday night we left Bangor at 11 and headed for New Lebanon NY.  Traffic was very manageable, so we got there in just under 6 hours.  Much better than my past several experiences with it.  I guess time of year matters.  We stayed in a cute little B and B, the Churchill House, along with brother N and his family (minus college kids) and sister C and her family.  Dad and S and brother C and his A stayed up at the house, which is a short walk from the B and B.  Friday was cold and raw. A and I were awake early, so went for a walk up past the house to the old cemetery in the woods, which looks just like it always did – trees growing in it, leaves everywhere, crooked tombstones – great Halloween haunting site.

B and B gave us a great breakfast,  and then we all got dressed and headed over to the cemetery.  Lots of standing around waiting, as almost everyone traveling up from NYC and CT was late.  Service was very nice, minister is the daughter of one of Ma’s oldest friends, so it was very personal. But it was very hard to stand there in the cold raw weather, knowing Ma was going to be there forever now. Had to just keep thinking that where she really is it is summer and warm and there are dogs running free around her.  Dad arranged for us all to gather for lunch afterwards, and we huddled around the fire there, but I never got warm again until late that night driving home.  It was nice to visit with cousins who were able to stay, and I was sorry that the youngest of us all had to go back to go to work, so we didn’t get to visit with him.  Lunch lasted several hours, and then A and I followed Dad back up to the house to see all the work he has done on it – it looks really nice.  He added a dormer and really opened up the loft, and redid the kitchen so it is useful now, instead of barely functional.  We left there just before 5, and did the long drive home.  Hit absolutely NO bad traffic the whole way, were home by 11, absolutely exhausted and drained.  Kittens were very glad to see us, but not so glad when we just fell into bed, no playing or anything.

I did learn that even the simplest hat pattern should not be knit in the dark, so did not accomplish much in that regard this weekend.  But I will somehow get all the Christmas knitting done!

Sister C is going to approach the rest of the family to see if they want to do a Yankee Swap instead of presents for everyone. I have suggested it before to no avail, so I told her she should try it, maybe she will get a different response than I did.  It would make some shopping a whole lot easier! But I would still give the kids presents, and the things I have already knit, I think I would give to the person I intended to.  We’ll see what everyone says.

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

