Exhausted!   Leave a comment

I  think I worked 70 hours this week – and that is with one evening meeting cancelled because of the storm.  No wonder I have less than low energy today!

The good news is that all the work was worth it – the conference came off REALLY well.  No serious glitches, the schedule ran like clockwork, and I think participants had a good time. The governor came, made his speech, left without incident.

Afterwards, a few of us on the committee went out to Finn’s for a drink (them) and dinner (all of us), and A joined us.  She and I went over to the Grand to see the local premier of a documentary film, “Betting the Farm” which was EXCELLENT. It featured the farmers of ten brave farms who started their own milk company – Maine’s Own Organic Milk, and told the tale of the struggle it has been.  Since I know some of them, it was especially meaningful to me – and they had them there afterwards to answer questions.  The film makers were also there, so it was a nice evening. But I came home, went to bed and never knew another thing until 8AM.  That is unheard of, that I would sleep through Allie crying for someone to play with her at 5 am.  A heard her and got up for a few minutes, which I really appreciate.

So – other things about this week besides work?  I made some birthday cards, and had to send them off without getting photos, since I was so late getting them made! And I started getting the packages I ordered last week – so I have brother N’s 50 birthday present, and got some more of that yarn I need for the scarf I am working on.  I took the opportunity to buy some knitted jewelry kits I have been eying – I think actually, I could figure out how to do them from the photo in the catalog, but I hate to do that to a person who went to all the trouble to make great kits – so I bought one necklace and one earring kit – and now that I have paid for the pattern, I feel free to remake and modify it to my heart’s delight. Some lucky niece will get a cool new project made for her for Christmas.

This week my grandmother turned 103.  Isn’t that amazing?  I can’t believe.  I’ll see her next weekend, since I knew it was not possible to add a trip to CT to this weekend.

This week we survived Sandy unscathed. Hard to believe.  And she lasted all week – the barometric pressure is still lower than it was Monday.  I hope she keeps moving and we get our normal air (cooler) and higher pressure. I think low pressure adds to my feeling of low energy.

Tomorrow is my favorite day of the year – longest one, and it is a weekend!  Yahoo!  I am glad it is TODAY that I am exhausted, because tomorrow I will have an extra hour to do whatever I want with.  Pretty amazing!

A is downstairs working on the last bit of the bed.  I am supposed to be making a few more birthday cards… so I guess I should think about that.

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

