Friday afternoon   2 comments

It is a blustery day, clear but chilly in the wind.  A good day for “do a chore, read a chapter”  or watch a show.  The kittens enjoy the part where I sit still for a while.  Allie is once again supervising the chores. So, she is exhausted again.

I think I have everything done that needs to be done for the visit – beds are made, bathroom is clean, towels are out.  Meat for crock pot stew is thawed,  I will chop the veggies tomorrow night. Shopping is done, table is cleared and even has a cloth and a center piece of gourds and pumpkins.  It is sort of amazing.  Also, about 50 loads of laundry are washed, dried, folded and put away.  AND I am sitting with a rerun of Numb3rs on and a kitten by my shoulders…Zumba, who is loving the fact that the sheets are off the furniture.  Allie is in her basket – she is very happy that the blankets in it are fresh from the dryer – sounds really wonderful, doesn’t it? Pellet stove (all clean!) will go on a few minutes (next ad, maybe?) so then it will be really warm and cozy here for people, too.

I also knit a few pattern repeats on my latest lace scarf – I’m halfway through it.  I think I will need more yarn though.  the safest thing would be to call the store and have them ship it, but what fun is that?  Maybe I will swing through Rockland on Sunday and see if they are open, and pick up a skein… or two.  🙂

I finished felting the hat – it came out fine for a kid – lots warmer than it was when I started, but smaller than I thought it would be. Nice and soft, though.  I think I will continue working on this to perfect it – just knit giant hats, then boil them for a while, put them in an ice bath, then through the washer and dryer, and voila!  thick warm felt. A new thing to master. There is alway something.

2 responses to “Friday afternoon

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pat goes to Goodwill or a similar store and buys old used wool sweaters really cheap and brings them home to begin the process of felting them.

    • I have a friend who does that to get yarn – she carefully picks the sweaters apart, then uses the yarn to make new things. I haven’t that much patience! But to make felt – I MIGHT have that much patience. 🙂 Then I would have to create something to make with the felt. I don’t think that would be a problem…

Leave a Reply

The Frog Queen's Fiber Journey

Knitting, Spinning, Weaving

Marja.9105 Arctic

stories about life in the north

Adventures in Remodeling

Misdirected remodeling

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

