Sailing at last!   1 comment

We sailed out of Rockland Harbor, toward Rockport.

Rockland from the sea

As the breeze was light, we didn’t get too far, but we were moving the whole time, and it was beautiful.  We saw several different ducks and loons, as well as a sturgeon leap out of the water along side the boat.  Just gorgeous!

Sailing past Rockland Breakwater light

A and L were teasing me for all the layers – tights, long johns,jeans, 2 pairs of sox, turtleneck, sweater, insulated jacket, gloves and a wool hat (a new hand knit one, of course.)  However – !  When we were out on the bay, I was cozy and warm, and they looked a little chilly.  The others on the boat seemed chilly too – just in fleece. Fleece is lovely, but it doesn’t keep the wind out.  Of course, Captain Bob was barefoot for the whole cruise, so maybe it was just me who needed layers!

A and L looking chilly. And although you can’t see it, Capt. Bob is barefoot!

Anyway, the day was really glorious, and we had a fun sail, cold weather not withstanding. At least it was clear and a bit windy – better than the last two tries. And just in time, Bob said he is hauling the boat next week.

      

Owls Head Light

One response to “Sailing at last!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You said something about Rockport, are you in Connecticut? So A has a workshop in the basement and you make the cards and what else? I have a workshop that I had the Amish build. I thought it would be big enough at 14 X 20 ft. but, I have outgrown it. I am retired and took money from unused sick days to pay for my shop. It has 3 windows and loft on 3 sides. I make small things and furniture when asked. I am totally self taught. I prefer small things. I would like to know more about you. I am in Kentucky. We could e-mail if you want to. My address is llamamamma59@yahoo.com. I do photography and my partner is an artists that sometimes uses the wool from our llamas. Would love to hear from you. Melanie

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

