hat attack!   2 comments

All summer I have been working on hats for the winter wear project at work.  Tomorrow I will empty my stash by bringing it in to join the pile of warm clothes we give to folks each year.  I thought I would take a photo of them all before they left us. My deal with myself to reduce my yarn stash is that I have to knit one hat to give away for everything I knit for friends, family and myself.  This pile of 28 hats in a variety of sizes is the result of this summer’s knitting.  Sometimes I do more than one hat, if I have a lot of meetings, say – since I can knit these in my sleep, they are good for keeping my hands occupied.

Most of these are made with Lamb’s Pride worsted weight, although there is plenty of unknown origin stash yarn in them as well.  I use left over yarn from other projects, and occasionally will buy yarn to make hats – like, when I realized I had lots of pink, purple and blue, and that things were looking pretty feminine in the hat pile, I bought some more masculine or gender neutral colors.

Now that I have emptied the storage bag of these, I’ll have to start filling it again.  Gotta keep Maine heads warm this winter! And my hands busy…

If you have hats, mittens, scarves to contribute, just send them along to Winter Wear, c/o Washington Hancock Community Agency PO Box 299 Ellsworth, ME 04605.  If you have yarn you want to get rid of that you think someone else could make into warm accessories, you can send that along too, we have lots of knitters and crocheters who would be glad to make things up for the program.  Your contribution will be much appreciated.

This summer’s hats – 28 of’em

Posted September 23, 2012 by salpal1 in how it came out

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 responses to “hat attack!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am an AVID hat person … every season … so I love this picture!

Leave a Reply

Knitting the Stash!

Farm-->Fleece-->Fiber

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

U N D I I N

k n i t t i n g is my c h o c o l a t e

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

Celia Ladygarden's lifestyle for ladies

Trimming the bush of life...

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

