Small world   Leave a comment

Yesterday I wore a t-shirt brother N and his wife, D gave me one Christmas.  It is a plain white t-shirt with a small icon commemorating Block Island’s 350th year. On the back it has an old sepia toned photo of the island.

Pretty nice, plain, low-key shirt.

I was sitting eating a snack after the Aids walk, when one of the other walkers asked me if I had been to BI.  Yes, I replied, I used to spend a good part of every summer there.  Well, this person had never been, but his family came from there, were some of the original settlers – Trimm is his family name.  I of, course, thought of Trimm’s Pond right away, but don’t know any other Trimms.

I thought that was pretty unusual, since Block is pretty obscure when you are in Maine.

Next stop – the ReStore.  The clerk said to me “Are you from Block Island?  I grew up there!”  so we had a nice chat about the island – her dad ran the Mansion Hotel, and she was amazed I knew about it – but everyone knows Mansion Beach is the best place to swim! Same nice beach as Crescent, but not the same crowds.

Next stop – grocery store.  Walking down the aisle, a man said to me “Eastport to Block Island!” and so we stopped while he told me about living in Boston, and listening to the marine weather forecast, which, as he said, is cut into segments, and one of those is Eastport to Block.

This used to happen to A as she traveled the country in her Michigan State sweatshirt (no she did not go there, she is just a coach Palumbo fan) but it has never happened to me, and I certainly never expected it to in that simple Block Island T-shirt.

Now I will have to start documenting these incidents – start my own six degrees study…I wonder if Kevin Bacon ever went to Block???

Posted September 16, 2012 by salpal1 in how it came out, what I am thinking about

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

Meredith and Robby Hike the AT

A mother, father and daughter all blog about the big hike.

2017 Appalachian Hike

Only those who attempt to go too far will discover how far they can go.

coolpeopleknitblog

Knitting From My Corner of the World: South Jersey and Philadelphia Knits

Spin A Yarn

yarn hoarder...accessories fanatic...lover of all things creative

Saltwater Hill Knits

Musings of an avid knitter, middle-of-the-pack runner, and native New Englander

notewords

handwork, writing, life, music, books

21st Century Spinning

Exploring a new age of an ancient skill

judeknits2

Knitting, photography and cats.

The ways of the whorl

wherever the spinning takes me

Mewkittie Creations

Wearable art and other interesting things.....

makebelievegirl

Textile & Pixel Design

Impeccable Knits: Shifting Stitches

classic cables with a modern twist

Blog

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

accidentlykellystreet

sewing, knitting and life

ericka eckles

handsewn bespoke and heirloom quality textiles

The Wisdom of Knitting

Miriam knits and thinks and seeks enlightenment in yarn

thefibrealchemist

My Rabbit Hole of Fibre Experimentation.

A Little More Abstract

Crafting For Those Dedicated to Experimentation

Knitting in New Guinea

A Linguist Takes on Life, Faith, and Cross-Cultural Living

Nutmegknitter

random posts about things I am doing or thinking

